Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

July 12, 2012 July 14, 2012

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 4:30 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Well friends…it is only 94 degrees today! Oops – make that 95! Hottest, driest summer on record in Indianapolis. We are in an extreme drought and under watering restrictions. This is very tough for the farmers and I have two in the family.  Very nerve wracking time for everyone near and dear to me.

I did complete a new 100 Degree Summer painting – BOY do I have inspiration! This was fun and a real challenge. It is my first ever full sheet painting. It was done on Crescent Watercolor Board which has a very hard, smooth surface so my process had to be modified slightly to allow for this less absorbant surface. I also worked with some new colors that I have never used before – teals and aquas – colors that I really like.  The inspiration was the rapidly disappearing water in the rivers, streams, fountains, ponds and pools. The warm surface layer and the cool underneath. The swirling and the ripples as swimmers move through it and children splash.

100 Degree Summer – 5

 

10 Responses to “July 12, 2012”

  1. sketchjay Says:

    great painting – I can feel the heat

  2. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Nice work, Linda! I like the new colors. The aqua is refreshing and contrasts nicely with all the energy in the lines and shapes.

  3. Stacia Says:

    Beautiful! It also reminds me of an abstract view of the lake shore from the position of a boat on the water. It seems like a silhouette of trees with their reflections beneath.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I love hearing about what anyone sees or feels when they look at my painting. Makes it so much fun for me and can give me inspiration.

  4. Keith Palmer Says:

    I would love one of your paintings on my wall Linda. I would also happily share ALL our rain with your farmers. Hope all is well.

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    I think you did a great job on the watercolor board, Linda. I struggle with that surface because it does not allow me to get in there and work in layers like I like to. Thumbs up to you on this piece.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Lesie! Your work with different processes and materials always teaches me something and gives me the push to try new things.


Leave a Reply

