Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

July 7, 2012 July 8, 2012

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:36 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

In Indianapolis, we hit 105 degrees yesterday. I have finished another 100 Degree Summer painting – hmmmm, can’t imagine what inspires me! It is not quite up to snuff. I lost control of the bottom section and it got too drab and uninteresting…As I do more to recover it only gets worse.

100 Degree Summer – 4

This photo was taken at the stage when I thought I was done and SHOULD HAVE STOPPED TINKERING! (I’m shouting at myself.) I didn’t like the red section in the middle at the bottom so tried to add some additional interest and now it looks even worse. Anyway – that’s how we learn, right!???

This is a half sheet of Arches 300# CP paper. I think knowing when to stop is one of the most challenging of all decisions for an artist. I usually put a painting through a “living with it” period. I didn’t give this one enough living with it time. I just knew it wasn’t up to my recent standard and I jumped right in. I think I needed the extra time to do a better job of figuring out what to do to add interest. If I had it all to do over I might have added some Masa or paper collage to the bottom section. This would have allowed me to lighten the area and add texture.

 

6 Responses to “July 7, 2012”

  1. ruthsartwork Says:

    Hi Linda. Congratulations on the Hoosier Salon again. I love your 100 deg paintings. We are having the same thing down here and we need rain so badly.

    I like the blues on the top of this painting. Can you still add the masa paper or collage. If you still don’t like it, it’s not really tinkering. I have the same problem at times of not knowing when to STOP.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Hi Ruth, who ever thought that 95 degree days would be a relief? I have set this painting aside for now and just finished a new painting which will be my second entry in the Midwest national Abstract Show. I think I will go back to this one later and try adding collaged paper. It will probably be a few weeks before I have time to work on it again. The summer gets so busy! Are you going to enter the State Fair?

  2. Ruth Bailey Says:

    I, too, like the blues at the top of this painting and the shapes and movement are good. The green area seems to have gotten a little muddy. It doesn’t have the same brilliance and sparkle that characterizes the top of this painting and is present in most of your other paintings. Perhaps you could save this painting by cropping it?

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Hi Ruth, I have looked at cropping and that is a possibility. I will set this aside for now and go back to it later – cropping and collage both seem like possibilities. Thank you for sharing your good eye

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I think the bottom of the painting, at this stage, looks “steamingly” good. Sorry this one is taking you on a journey. I have to smile because you know I, too, have not known when to stop. Good post, Linda.

  4. Carol King Says:

    Hi Linda, You’ve really been working hard lately with all these amazing paintings. And in this heat!


Leave a Reply

