Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

June 13, 2012 June 14, 2012

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:23 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Do you ever question the way you use your time? I struggled and struggled to try to make something from a bad start. This is one of the messes I made in my Warren Taylor workshop.  I spend hours changing, overpainting…whine, whine, whine…anyway this is where I decided to end it. Its as good as I can get it. I will say that I learned a lot about using watercolor crayons and pencils but I had definitely hit the point of diminishing returns. It was time to move on.

Workshop 1

To be fair to Warren I must tell you that multiple artists achieved stunning finished paintings in his workshop. That was not my mind set and I went in with a different purpose. I wanted to play and to learn about the materials and that I did do!

PS I’m working on my second “mess” and I’m not out of ideas yet!

 

12 Responses to “June 13, 2012”

  1. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Thanks for sharing a “learning” piece! I think it has some wonderful shapes and colors in it. I recently shared a piece with which I wasn’t happy, but like you, I had learned a lot from it. It was very difficult emotionally for me to put out something like that. I’m looking forward to seeing your other ideas blossom!

    • Hi Ruth – with my blog I want to post the good and the bad. I don’t think of it as anything but an incentive to create and a chance to share. We all have our failures and our power comes from accepting the opportunity to learn. I learn so much from all of you and I hope you do from me.

  2. Actually, Linda, I don’t see a ‘mess.’ I really like this painting. The lavenders and greens play so well with the red tulips. It is very soothing. It probably is not what you had pictured, but it stands strong by itself. I’m glad you posted it.

  3. Beth Parker Says:

    I think it’s beautiful, Linda! Set it back and look at it in a week and I bet you’ll feel different about it. I love the purple and turquoise colors with that red tulip! 🙂

  4. Diane Says:

    Interesting perspective you’ve introduced into the painting with the lines. I’m left wondering if the flowers are inside or outside of the framing – but pleasing over all feeling. I agree with Beth Parker. Great stuff!

    • It was intended to give the appearance of a baroque frame – perhaps painted to look like some kind of stone. Warren Taylor really focuses on the use of linear design elements as part of a composition.

  5. Linda — you know, don’t you, that when you set this piece aside and come back to it in a few months, it will actually look pretty good? There’s a lot of nice stuff going on here, rich textures, great composition. This is good work.

  6. lou elio Says:

    I like it… the colors are nice and deep. I did have a laugh cause I also tried using watercolor pencils for the first time on a nice pencil sketch, and of course without any practice or forethought (didn’t even tape down the paper) wound up ruining what was a good drawing…. so yes, I do also question the use of my time, unfortunately when its too late!

  7. lesliepaints Says:

    I like this piece. Your darks behind the tulips are really well developed and push them forward, nicely. I like watercolor crayon and pencils in conjunction with other media like collage and some tube watercolor, maybe some ink. Without tons of different colors to choose from, I think most sets of them are lacking in the darks needed to make a composition read well. I just have not wanted to go that extra mile and spend more money to get more darks so have to make do with what I have.
    No mess here.


Leave a Reply

