Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

June 8, 2012 June 8, 2012

Filed under: Collage,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:48 am
Tags: , , , ,

What a GREAT three days I’ve had. I attended a workshop offered by the Watercolor Society of Indiana and the instructor was Warren Taylor. He recently retired as a professor of oil and watercolor painting from Midland College in Texas. He made his reputation painting tight works of creativity, deep introspection, and whimsy. He is very intuitive and supportive when dealing with adult students and his critiques (walk arounds) were informational and positive. The workshop discussed how to work with water soluble media such as watercolor crayons and pencils. It was an opportunity for me to play and have fun and I created three messes and one possible painting. In my perverse way, I am trying to “save” one of the messes. Here is additional information on Warren: http://warrentaylor-aws.com/articles/view/about-warren-taylor

I was lucky enough to be able to buy one of his paintings. This one has several collage elements. I love the use of postage stamps from his travels. Enjoy!

 

8 Responses to “June 8, 2012”

  1. I’m happy you had fun. I like his painting.

  2. Thanks Gretchen, I think his work is full of “glow”!

  3. Carol King Says:

    Cool. Sounds great and I like his work. Congratulations on your purchase.

    • I was afraid I would boot myself later if I didn’t buy this. Three years later, I am still sorry I didn’t buy a piece from Peggy Brown when I attended her workshop! (Can’t fill my house with ONLY my paintings…)

  4. judy Says:

    What a lovely, yummy painting! I could look at that for hours. His textures are great. The workshop sounds like a wonderful opportunity!

  5. Taking a workshop like that sounds great! Good for you for stepping outside your comfort zone.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      The workshop was fun and challenging. I tried to try verything he taught with a spirit of fun and advanture.


Leave a Reply

