Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 24, 2012 May 25, 2012

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:25 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This is my final sketch from my trip to New York City. I made this one in the Metropolitan Museum of Art. It is graphite in my little Bee sketchbook. This sketchbook allows wet media but that is too much weight to lug around NYC – even using aquabrushes!

Temple of Dendur

This piece of history is displayed in a huge light filled room. I have barely hinted at the texture and carving in the huge old stones.

 

6 Responses to “May 24, 2012”

  1. Such a nice sketch, Linda. I find that in looking back through sketch books I find memories that had been long forgotten.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    This is so cool. Thank you for sharing these sketches you did on your trip. I sometimes just peruse through other artists’ sketches online. We learn so much from them, I think.

    • I agree Leslie. With this group I also learned as I worked on them to darken them up so I could use them on the blog…something about the light. My drawings often get too dark.

  3. Carol King Says:

    Another wonderful sketch. The Met is so big and overwhelming, I can only stay for a while and then I get that museum headache! Last time I was there I saw Will Ferrell with his family eating the the cafeteria.


Leave a Reply

