Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 16, 2012 May 17, 2012

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:46 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

This is the second sketch from my trip to New York City. I sketched this tower at the Belvedere  on Sunday morning. It was sunny and bright and the glare from the paper about blinded me. DUH! I was finally smart enough to move into the shade. I thought I had taken a photo of this but couldn’t find it so there is no comparision this time.

I sketched in pencil in the park but always had the intention to finish it in marker. I also added just a touch of watercolor to add soft background shapes and some texture to the stone walls.

 

10 Responses to “May 16, 2012”

  1. Wonderful hints of earth tones and marker rendering, but again I always love your art. It has a lot of soul to what ever you paint. Hope all is well up north for you.

  2. The sun is shining and I’m going to plant my garden today. Working on a tour for the museum about Gauguin’s art…how good does it get?

  3. Very alive. Lovely rendering.

  4. I like this one a lot. It’s great the way a fine sense of atmosphere and light is achieved with very simple means. And the old brick-work (stone-work?) is rendered very effectively.

  5. hannekekoop Says:

    The light is so visible. I like this work very much.

    • Thank you Hanneke! The light was a major part of the experience.

      • aloha Linda. i find drawing on the spot anchors an experience way more for me than a photo. i like this. that’s a great tree. is it a sycamore?? for some reason that comes to mind – but it could be something else i’m not that great on trees but i think you caught the flavor of this tree well. interesting too how the tower almost feels like it is organic and sprouting up with the trees. cool. aloha.

  6. Carol King Says:

    Beautiful Linda!


Leave a Reply

