Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 14, 2012 May 15, 2012

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 3:11 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I spent the last week in New York City immersing myself in art. Two whole days in the Met and visited the Frick Collection, the Whitney, the Cloisters and the Asian Institute. Can you imagine – 8 – count them! – 8 Vermeers and Rembrandts in less than 2 days. I was in heaven. We stayed on Times Square and also visited Ground Zero and the Lady herself (Ms Liberty). All this embellished by great food, the NYC Ballet and the Book of Mormon. Great week…

I was lucky enough to have about 3 hours to sketch in Central Park on Sunday morning. I did one sketch in the room earlier in the week. I will post my Central Park sketches later but here is Times Square from the room. First a photo.

Times Square

Then the sketch.

Times Square Sketch

Done with watercolor and markers. Oh yes – add MOMA to the list. I’m overwhelmed…

 

16 Responses to “May 14, 2012”

  1. Ohhh visiting New York is one of my biggest dreams. Love your sketch!!! Can’t wait to see more.

  2. Chris Carter Says:

    Hah! And you didn’t tell me you were going to be in New York City! Next time, let me know and I will meet you somewhere for an hour of sketching together!

  3. It is so nice, Linda to see the masters. I love your skyline art.

    • I didn’t realize how skewed my buildings were until I saw the photo…it was so incredible to be able to immerse myself in great, world class art. I can’t stop talking about it.

  4. Beth Parker Says:

    O my gosh! That sounds like heaven, Linda! A whole week immersed in art in New York City! I really want to do this one day. I love your painting, too! It’s wonderful and makes me want to go there even more! Nice!!!

  5. Harriett Says:

    I’m breathless just thinking about all the wonderful things you saw! Can’t wait to see the sketches from Central Park”

  6. Very nicely done. For some reason, I like the sky in particular, but that Big .. New York .. Buildingscape .. is very welll captured. I envy you your time in the museums.

    • It was fun. When I tell people I spend 5 days in art museums their eyes glaze over. Sort of like I do when friends talk about 5 days of golf…snooze. Guess that’s what makes the world go around!

  7. lesliepaints Says:

    I’m jealous! 🙂

  8. Carol King Says:

    Well! I didn’t know you were coming to NY! I would have met you on the steps of the Metropolitan! I see you have a bunch of posts, so I have to go check them out. What did you think of the Book of Mormon?

    Great sketch of NYC!

  9. Carol King Says:

    Oh, where did you stay in Times Square?


Leave a Reply

