Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 27, 2012 April 29, 2012

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 11:13 am
Tags: , , , , ,

When I started painting seriously in 2007, I used primarily Yupo. I love the exotic, interesting effects it creates. I have been doing a lot of painting in my head lately. I have been trying to figure out if I can adapt the technique I’ve been for use with Yupo. The combination of technique (many layers of paint) and Yupo (no absorbancy) is a real challenge. I know it could be done with acrylic inks but I am not sure about watercolor. I decided to give it a shot on a quarter sheet and to use a square as my focal point rather than my usual circles. Here is the result.

Vintage 1

I called this Vintage 1 because a friend and I have been attending antique auctions recently. I have been thinking about old things… worn, rusted, scuffed…a lot like the way I feel these days. Anyway, I decided to use straight lines and a rounded square shape. The dots are made with bubble wrap and this painting has 2 or 3 layers. My usual paintings take about 5 or 6 layers of paint. I’m not happy that I have found a process but I HAVE taken that first step.

 

 

11 Responses to “April 27, 2012”

  1. Beth Parker Says:

    This is very cool, Linda! When it first opened on my monitor, I thought of rust! I think this is going to lead you down some very fun paths!

  2. Carol King Says:

    I like this very much. The colors and the bubble wrap texture make it interesting. Looking forward to more.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    This is great, Linda! I find no other paper as challenging as YUPO to work on with watercolor. You have managed interesting shapes, depth and great color into this. Thumbs up! Yes it looks vintage, alright. 🙂

  4. Barry Coombs Says:

    It really feels like some kind of artifact. A nice balance of definition and mystery.

  5. jeighdeigh Says:

    Pretty exciting, actually. I see all kinds of possibilities here. Your customary very rich color and texture landscape — but different.

  6. I love the texture you achieved with this method. I like your bravery.


Leave a Reply

