Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 6, 2012 March 8, 2012

Filed under: Daily Post,Portraits & Self Portraits,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:09 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have another face for your consideration. I think I was fascinated by the blowing, ruffled hair on this one and the last. Once again, this is a 30 minute sketch done in my Bee sketchbook with Pebeo pan watercolors and Aquastroke brushes (two of which are about worn out). Its a small book about 6″ X 9″. It tolerates wet media but I’ve noticed that I get “pilling” on the surface after several washes and I have to take it off with my finger tip.

 

12 Responses to “March 6, 2012”

  1. Carol King Says:

    What a lovely portrait. I like the light on the face and neck.

    • Thank you Carol. The only time I look back at the original photo from the magazine is to see what side the light was coming from. Occasionally I wind up with the face lit from the right and the neck lit from the left! OH MY!

  2. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Linda, this is an intriguing idea, and well done! I think the blowing hair worked better on the previous sketch, but this woman has a lot of character showing. She’s strong and determined and not fussy. Ruth

  3. Really great, Linda!!

  4. ruthsartwork Says:

    I like the portraits Linda. I think faces are so hard to do because our “internal programming” picks up any flaw. These are quite nice. It is so much fun to try something different isn’t it. I think we feel refreshed then when we return to what we normally do. Or we find a new direction to pursue.

  5. I believe that you are drawing your own face. I don’t mean likeness but, rather, the inner you. Especially the eyes. I would not be concerned about anything but putting your faces on paper….like a journal. Many faces. I think that would be an interesting and revealing process.

  6. Ruth Bailey Says:

    Hello, Linda. 
I’m not aware if you enjoy blog awards or not, but have awarded you, anyway, with the 7×7 link award, which encourages you to link to seven of your best or most important posts from the past. If you desire the badge for your sidebar, the guidelines are here: http://ruthbaileyart.wordpress.com/2012/03/13/the-7-x-7-link-award
    Ruth Bailey

  7. Faces are hard enough, and in thirty minutes makes it even more of a task. But you have captured the highlights and personality wonderfully. Nice job!


Leave a Reply

