Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

March 4, 2012 March 6, 2012

Filed under: Daily Post,Portraits & Self Portraits,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:21 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Good morning everyone! I have been a little tired and distracted lately so I got out my sketchbook. You probably don’t remember but I worked primarily on loose sketches during the first three months of 2011. I think it helped relax my “little gray cells”, flex my painting and drawing muscles, and prepare me for more rigorous painting activity. I used my 6″ X 9″ Bee Deluxe sketchbook that will take wet media and an old copy of a magazine.  I am using my Pebeo pan set of watercolor and my aquabrushes to paint faces. First I do a quick pencil sketch and then I put the magazine away and just paint. The intent is not to get a likeness of a specific person but just to achieve a face I like in about 30 minutes.

Face 03042012

 

10 Responses to “March 4, 2012”

  1. Linda Loper Says:

    Good Morning Linda, Our teacher in my watercolor class is pushing me to try this but I’m not the best student for even wanting to try. Doing faces scare me. Yours is very lovely.

    • I keep telling myself “it’s just a sheet of paper!” Try painting like your doing a contour drawing. Rough sketch of the head and then paint contours working from the outside in. Good luck!

  2. Harriett Smith Says:

    Your technique is the same one I use with the Writer’s Group. We do a “flash writing” for ten minutes (after relaxation and deep breathing for five minutes), with the intent of simply putting pen to paper and not stopping. No editing, rewriting….just a dedicated flow of the written word. Amazingly, this exercise gets the gray matter circulating and helps to begin the writing process by bringing focus to the union of physical and mental. Your “free sketching” seems to be the same sort of “exercise”.

  3. These are lovely Linda. I’m a big fan of portrait painting (although not very good). You’ve inspired me.


Leave a Reply

