Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 4, 2012 February 4, 2012

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 3:01 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

My good blogging friends, I have been away for awhile. Ken’s Celebration of Life was held last Sunday at the Indianapolis Museum of Art. My family and friends worked very hard to make sure that every element spoke of Ken and it was a success with traditional and non-traditional elements. The day was full of laughter and stories about my remarkable man. And there were a few tears too – but only a few – as we realized how much he will be missed.

The week after Ken passed away I received an offer that seemed so directly tied to our recent experience that I could not refuse. The scientific research journal Cell Stem Cell found my paintings through my blog (wonderful things happen to those who blog!). They asked if I would allow one of my paintings to be used in their journal.  Their February issue was just published with my painting on the front cover. As you may remember Ken had his stem cells harvested last Spring in order to make a vaccine to fight his cancer. Here’s my cover painting and the caption that explains it:

February Cover of Cell Stem Cell

On the cover: This issue features a special review focus on hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs). The cover image is a watercolor painting by Linda Halcomb, Indianapolis, IN (USA) entitled “Blood Flow 2,” which is designed to depict blood and blood vessels. Linda completed this painting while her husband Ken was having hematopoietic cells harvested as part of his cancer treatment. Ken sadly lost his battle with cancer late last year, and the use of this image for our cover honors his life and his commitment to fighting his disease.

 

18 Responses to “February 4, 2012”

  1. I am so happy for you.

  2. I’m really happy for you, Linda. You deserve this. Your paintings look amazing and mean something so important! That’s beautiful.
    Congrats.
    Cha xx

  3. Jonathan Day Says:

    Delightful — a Linda Halcomb post. I was worried. These must still be very hard times for you, but it is good to see that you are carrying on, with your life and your art, and that you — and Ken — are getting some recognition.

    • In January most of my time was devoted to Ken’s Celebration of Life but I also started getting back into my activities at the museum. I led a “Creative Hoosiers” tour for a small Christain School and I also led our first book discussion for the Association of International Women art interest group I lead. Both were fun. I am scheduled for 3 tours at the Museum during February and am the lead docent on a 13 docent, 130 student tour during March. I came back and they put me to work! Love it!

  4. Chris Carter Says:

    Ken would be so, so pleased …. and incredibly proud of you.

  5. ruthsartwork Says:

    What a wonderfful tribute to you and Ken. I am sure he would be pleased for you.

  6. Linda Loper Says:

    I just discovered you today, your work is so very special. I feel deeply for your loss but know in my heart that you will be fine. Paint your tears and make them into smiles. I love your blog and I will be sharing it in my college class next week. Thanks Linda

  7. lesliepaints Says:

    Wow! I hope more recognize the love that went into that series of paintings, Linda.

  8. Linda, I have missed so much and apologize for not knowing earlier about Ken. I can only think that Ken’s life was so hugely enriched by your spirit, passion and love for life and for him. I’m sorry for your loss, but I hope that you celebrate the time and memories that were given. I know even at 49, because of the love of my wife and family, life has been a celebration for me and I hope they continue to celebrate life after I have passed.
    Your love and compassion is beautifully displayed in your art and it deserves to be displayed. I’m proud of you and I hope to someday get to see you and your art.

  9. Thank you Ryan. I have been too tired to paint for the last several weeks but I have started practicing my sumi-e strokes and hope I have something to show soon.


Leave a Reply

