Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 11, 2012 January 12, 2012

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:31 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

This is my 300th post! Yeah! Do I sound like I’m breaking my arm patting myself on the back? I’m really pleased and happy that I have made so many new friends and learned so much during the last two years of blogging. Thank you….

We have been having a warm and wet winter in Indiana. Snow is due today along with colder weather. I have been thinking about the flow of seasons and about winter. In the mid-1980’s I painted one of my best paintings ever. I copied a photo of a lynx in deep snow and was so proud of the beautiful pink, lavender and cerulean blue highlights I achieved. They brought the snow to life. I decided to try to capture some of this winter beauty with my current abstract painting style. This was a challenge and working with white watercolor is a difficult. It looks so flat! But I learned alot and tried something new and so all’s well that ends well.

Flow of Nature - Winter

I did like the sense of snow being blown by the wind in this abstract world. Feels very cold.

 

17 Responses to “January 11, 2012”

  1. sketchjay Says:

    Great job, Congratulations!

  2. judy Says:

    Here comes the snow! You can see it billowing out! I love that, Linda. You are to be sincerely commended for your diligence ~ 300! Thank you for sharing your journey with us.

  3. Wayside Artist Says:

    The snow is blowing! You handled white paint with great skill. Congrats on your 300th post and for continuing to share your painting and writing. This is beautiful.

  4. EssJay Says:

    Well done on 300! I absolutely love this. The colours are gorgeous and its just amazing! Great work!

  5. Congratulations Linda! You have brought many of smiles and wonderful art for all of us that visit. I hope to see many more this year.
    You have captured the cold, wintery feeling a little to well… it’s snowing here now!

  6. Beautiful work here. And congrats on the 300th post. That’s huge. 🙂

  7. artimagica Says:

    Mmmmmm. It makes me think of twilight in the winter. Beautiful!

  8. Nuno Says:

    Beautiful colors! And congrats on the 300 posts.

  9. ruthsartwork Says:

    This is what today feels like with the cold wind blowing and the snow in the air. Brrrr. I bet it is colder up by you than down here.

  10. lesliepaints Says:

    Cold, frigid, moving and still the light is there! I think youdid great with the white! Love that burst of it in the middle!

  11. Chris Carter Says:

    You captured it. I think you have opened the door to your spirit…. far more abstract than representational. Perhaps skills may be honed by representational exercises. In your case, your spirit flies with the abstract ….. in my opinion.

  12. Jonathan Day Says:

    You work your customary magic.

  13. L.M. Says:

    Love this image! Congrats on hitting #300, too!!

  14. ruthsartwork Says:

    Congratulations on #300. So much dedication is required for that. I guess we are finally getting some winter. I love the white peaking through the blues.

  15. abbieg14 Says:

    This image is inspiring. I am not very strong in abstract watercolor, but when I see something like this, I want to keep trying. Thank you for sharing this image and congrats on making #300!

  16. Connie Says:

    I love the colors and flow

  17. Diane Says:

    Well done Linda – on all fronts with 300 posts and captured snow in colour!!


Leave a Reply

