Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 8, 2012 January 8, 2012

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:36 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

My mind seems tired and lacking in focus. I see that in my latest painting. As I mentioned I was not very happy with the painting below.

The Sky Wept - the painting I painted over

Sooo… I decided to scrap it and use the watercolor board for a new painting. First I decided on a landscape orientation and painted over the surface with gesso.

Gessoed layer

Next I put on a layer of Black magic ink and another layer of gesso – both applied with rough cross hatching.  I followed that with a rough application of white watercolor. At this point I didn’t really know what I wanted to do so I decided to paint the sadness and sorrow and lack of focus that I am feeling. For the first layer I poured and dripped Venetian Brown, Cobalt Violet and Payne’s Gray with a little Burnt Sienna.

First paint layer

I continued to drop, spray, float and splash paint until the paintin g felt finished. Very bleak but this creation got me back in the studio and put a brush in my hand so that is all good. Ken would be pleased.

Sorrow 1

 

 

6 Responses to “January 8, 2012”

  1. Please allow yourself time to heal, Linda. Your life is upside down right now. Keep on creating and let it go where it will. Many blessings.

  2. Harriett Says:

    Your sorrow is so tangible in this piece it leaps from the canvas.

  3. Jonathan Day Says:

    I was so very, very sorry to hear of your loss. I really didn’t know what to say. You carried yourself through Ken’s last days with courage and grace like I’ve never seen. I know very little about how one heals, or how much one can heal, from a loss like yours, but it is always very heartening to see that you are still painting. Something tells me that is important. I hope that you have much help from friends and family. My thoughts are with you.

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    What a good post about exploring our feelings and getting it down. This definitely comes through as sorrow, Linda. So Bravo!

  5. uhhh Venetian Brown is gorgeous!!! :)) very nice|!!


Leave a Reply

