Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

December 24, 2011 December 27, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Portraits & Self Portraits — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:39 am
Tags: ,

Ken ended his life in peace and comfort at 9:00 pm on Christmas Eve at St Vincent’s Hospice. Appropriately It’s a Wonderful Life was playing on the TV in his room. He is no longer in pain. His fight is over.

When we received his diagnosis and were told that his cancer was aggressive and advanced I asked him if he wanted to start a bucket list. He said, “I am not afraid to die. I have no regrets. I have nothing left undone.” I pray we are all so lucky.

We both want to thank you for your kindness and generosity – for your blessings and prayers. You were our teachers and enriched our lives.

 

18 Responses to “December 24, 2011”

  1. Chris Carter Says:

    Linda, thank you for sharing your journey and your love for one another. I am sorry for the pain you have gone through and will continue to feel, having lost Ken. His spirit fills you and will continue to fill you, bringing out the strengths you have, together, nurtured. Ken’s struggles brought to light your strength of creative expression in a way you might not have discovered without him.

  2. Jan Allen Says:

    Dear Linda,
    You both are in our thoughts and prayers. He will always be with you. Love & hugs, Jan

  3. Harriett Says:

    Your love and commitment to Ken is your greatest work of art, Linda.

  4. Wayside Artist Says:

    Linda,

    I am so sorry for your loss. You have shared your love and fears through posts, turning to creative arts to express your experience and Ken’s. What a great display of love and regard. His words at the end of his life are treasures.

    Yours,
    Nanina

  5. Dear Linda,
    Ken lived a good life and had a good death. I am sorry for your loss because I know you will miss him. You had this wonderful blessed relationship with Ken and I know that the experience of it will help to sustain you. I send my blessings. Much love, Gretchen

  6. Nuno Says:

    Linda, I can not add anything to the previous comments. My condolences. Ken, rest in peace.

  7. hannekekoop Says:

    Linda, my deepest condolences.
    Love, Hanneke.

  8. Bob AuBuchon Says:

    Prayers of comfort and help.

  9. Yousei Hime Says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. A prayer of peace for you and your family, may you find it day by day in the year and years to come.

  10. Stacia Says:

    The love you two experienced is inspirational. Thank you for sharing it with the broader world, as it touched others more than you’ll ever know. My prayers are with you . . .

  11. lesliepaints Says:

    I watched the movie with you that night, Linda. Bless you both for all you have shared, this journey.

  12. ruthsartwork Says:

    My condolences for your loss, Linda. This has not been an easy time for either of you but you both seemed to move through it with grace and love. You are in my thoughts.

  13. Carol King Says:

    Dear Linda, deepest condolences to you and your family. I was touched to share some of this journey with you in your postings and paintings.

  14. artimagica Says:

    Dear Linda, My hearfelt condolences to you and your family for your loss. Throughout this difficult journey you brought beautiful art into the world. Your love and committment to Ken was ever evident. May you find peace in the new year.

  15. Keith Palmer Says:

    My deepest condolences to you and your family Linda. I have followed your paintings and read your words throughout 2011. I lost my mother two years ago on December 29, my father and I have a saying which is on my mother’s stone…’Those we love don’t fade away, they walk beside us every day’. Take care Linda.

  16. Raevyn Says:

    Linda, I have been mostly offline for a month or so and just now read of the loss of your beloved Ken. I am so sorry and wish you and your family peace, love, and joy in your memories of him. Sending love and light.

  17. Dear Linda,
    I’m so sorry for your loss. My deepest condolences to you and your family… I lost my grandfather to cancer 16 years ago, I was still a child but I swear, it’s like he’s still alive, my family and I are always talking about him and his incredible personality. He was so strong and funny…
    What you’ve done and are doing on this blog is beautiful and brave, Linda.Thanks for sharing your journey. May the love of family and friends comfort you.
    Charlotte

  18. Barry Coombs Says:

    I’m very sorry to hear about your loss. You’ve been very courageous and your creativity has never diminished throughout a difficult process.


Leave a Reply

