Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 30, 2011 December 1, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 9:23 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Three days of rain…gray and gloomy…another 7 hours in the emergency room…hard days!

I thought about the rain and began to think that the sky was crying. I started a new painting and I knew this one would be dark without the flashes of light. I did capture a few steps in the process. Step one was an underpainting to begin to develop texture and a general color scheme.

The Sky Wept - Step 1

As you can see I reversed my normal orientation. I saw the rain as falling and wanted a feeling of downward movement. For step 2 I began to develop the layers of the design and to build the colors in layers.

The Sky Wept - Step 2

Finally I am showing the finished painting. I am not really happy with it but am afraid if I keep tweaking it I will just totally mess it up. Anyway – the sky wept hard and long and cold. But now the sun is out and I’m hoping that is a good omen.

 

 

 

24 Responses to “November 30, 2011”

  1. I like how you walked us through your thought process on this work.

    Hope things get better for you!

  2. Harriett Says:

    I’m going to meditate on the rain “cleansing” and bringing peace.

  3. I love the very first step the best. Unadulterated emotion. My heart goes out to you both. Very difficult.

  4. I love rain in general (although it is almost always in a positive way) and i like your interpretation of it.
    Perfect love!

  5. I think I like second image best…And I like watching you develop this fascinating series. It has to become a book or an exhibit or both.

    Warm thoughts to you and your husband.

  6. artimagica Says:

    I love the complexity of the final piece. Perhaps it is a mirror of the complex emotions that you have been traveling through. Though you said there would be no light – the pinks soften the darkness. Lots of healing and rejuventing thoughts being sent your way this weekend.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you. Ken was admitted to the hospital on Friday so the last few days have been tough but we are making progress.

  7. Chris Carter Says:

    I love it. It is mystical, broiling with the energy of light and life … and its struggles.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Chris. I always think of you and your current journey when I paint. I try to think of life as journey from which we learn and grow but it can be so tough sometimes.

  8. allicette Says:

    Wow… I am so sorry what you are going through. I send you all my love.

    I really love these (this one and ‘convergence’). I imagine this must be how suns and planets are made.

    Thank you always for the kind words on my blog.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I am influenced by the universe and particularly by the beautiful photos in national Geographic. I think they are always there – behind the scenes – when I paint.

  9. ruthsartwork Says:

    Another beautiful painting, Linda. I love the rain – especially thunderstorms because I can feel the energy. My thoughts are with you and your husband.

  10. Beth Parker Says:

    This is gorgeous, Linda! It would be wonderful in a great big size! Of course, I don’t want you to have to go to the emergency room in pouring rain for inspiration, so hopefully your next paintings will be full of hope, sunshine and good things to come. ((hugs))

  11. Francis Jong Says:

    I wish both of you are well and may he recover soon. The painting is just increadible and eletricfying. You must share the steps on how you did that. It just so wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Jonathan Day Says:

    No posts here for a while — sure hope everything is (more or less) OK.

    Another marvelous painting.

  13. abbieg14 Says:

    Hi Linda,
    I nominate you for a Liebster Award. Check out http://tankaweekly.wordpress.com for what to do.

  14. Sorry Linda that I haven’t visited for awhile. Things are extremely busy, but nothing like what you have on your schedule. Lots of prayers to you and your husband, and I hope relaxation and fun is just around the corner. Beautiful art once again!

  15. lesliepaints Says:

    I do not see the rain in this painting only the glow of that incredible light, Linda. Fantastic painting!!!!!


Leave a Reply

