Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 28, 2011 November 29, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Portraits & Self Portraits — lindahalcombfineart @ 3:38 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve been doing some sketching and I love to work with faces. My first is done with black and gray Sharpie markers.

The Ancester

and the next one is just graphite pencils. Both are in my little 6″ X 9″ sketchbook.  Both are inspired by photos in the latest Smithsonian magazine.

The Navigator

 

6 Responses to “November 28, 2011”

  1. hannekekoop Says:

    Beautiful. I think it’s amazing how you do a portrait with markers (I love the contrasts).

    • Thank you, Hanneke. I love to work with the markers because of the contrast, strength and power I can get. I have two sets of Prismacolor markers – 5 markers per set – 20% gray, 40% gray, 60% gray, 80% gray and black – one set in in warm gray, one in cool gray. I haven’t used them much lately but I really like working with them.

  2. artimagica Says:

    Wow, these are both terrific Linda. I especially like the ancester. I can’t quite decide if she looks a little cranky or worried. Perhaps not lnowing is what draws me to her!

  3. Yousei Hime Says:

    I lack the confidence to try anything with a sharpie. I’m impressed.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      My break through came when someone said…its only a page of paper. What happens if you fail? Just try again. Give it a shot!


Leave a Reply

