Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 26, 2011 November 27, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:04 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

One more time…here is my second 16″ X 20″ painting. Scaling up can be challenging but again I was very pleased with the result. My husband doesn’t like it because it is so dark but it comes from a different place. With this painting I was thinking about convergence and things coming together. Those things might be good or bad but they definitely change each other. I wanted the darkness but also a feeling of hopeful change. With lights flashing of course! Once again this is painted on my new stock of Arches watercolor board which I continue to find pleasing to work with. I got engrossed amd forgot to take photos of the steps in my process but I do have the first layer:

First Step

and the last:

Convergence 2 - Watercolor on 16" X 20" Arches CP Watercolor Board

 

 

14 Responses to “November 26, 2011”

  1. Oh, WOW!!! I love your new painting, and it’s name. IT is Convergence!!!! I hope I spelled it right.

  2. Very powerful. Very powerful. I love it!

  3. Carol King Says:

    A very strong painting. I’ve been meaning to ask you. How do you get your white lines and circles?

    • I use a small dropper bottle holding masking fluid and draw the lines free hand. I get the circles by drawing around the inside of a roll of masking tape or the outside of a glass, saucer or bowl…anything round will do. There are times that enough masking fluid remains on the inside of the roll to “print” a circle with the roll of tape.

  4. hannekekoop Says:

    It’s very beautiful and catches the eye. There is much to see in it and even by watching it I can almost “feel” the strenght. Beautiful.

  5. artimagica Says:

    It is a beautiful and interesting piece. I feel like I see two storm fronts coming together in a flash in the middle. The colors are wonderful and it was great to have a sense of where it started.

    • I sat this painting on our mantel to study it…is it done? You know the drill…The painting I did immediately before this one was beside it…I stepped back and WOW they really enhance and compliment each other. I couldn’t believe it. Got lucky with these two!

  6. lesliepaints Says:

    Dark? Too Dark? I think that is just individual taste. I like the darks in this and that it sort of appears as night time.
    Forgot to mention on the post you talked about buckling. Aquarius II watercolor paper doesn’t buckle much. It may be just what you are looking for, Linda. It is a lighter weight of paper but holds quite a bit. It is used by many watercolorists for just that reason. It is partially synthetic and partially natural fiber. No. It is not at all slippery like yupo and has a textured surface.

    • I actually have Aquarius II paper in my stash. I bought it for a collage workshop I took from Peggy Brown. I will have to pull it out. I do remember Peggy saying she uses BFK Rives and Aquarius II because they dry flat and do not buckle. Thanks for the reminder.


Leave a Reply

