Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 9, 2011 November 9, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:41 am
Tags: , , , , ,

We have been going through a rough patch lately but thinks are looking up. Ken started physical therapy on Monday with an absolutely great, astute therapist and radiation yesterday. We are SOOO lucky to have the Simon Cancer at the Indiana University Medical Center so close. This is a remarkable resouce and we trust their care. Ken is actually doing his PT excercises and seems to be making progress. We are blessed and thank all of you for your kindness and positive energy.

BUT it has been tough. My latest painting is inspired by the Dark Place. That place we slide into if we are not careful. That place that fear, frustration, anger, anxiety and depression lead you.  That place where you are suffocated by your own despair. We are lucky that we have each other, you our friends and kind, compassionate medical care. The painting is on 12″ X 16″ Kilimanjaro and I tried to capture the slippage and disintegration and lack of control you feel during these periods. We are not there yet and are bouncing back so a hearty thanks to all of you!

To the Dark Place

 

 

9 Responses to “November 9, 2011”

  1. jwms1 Says:

    xox Even in the midst of your darkness, I see the glimmers of light! Very nice.

  2. I believe that your reaching out to touch others who love you is one of the most healing actions you could take. And every time you paint and post about the journey so many more souls pray for your peace.

    • Gretchen, I cannot tell you how much your words mean to me. I feel truly blessed by the friends I have and the new ones I’ve made. The kindness and generosity shown to both of us has been a real life lesson.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    This is my favorite of the series, Linda. I think it is because this says it all. Love the opening in the upper left quadrant that lets the light shine through. The energy with the red and yellow really grabs my attention and allows me to see this from my own set of stories through life. That is really what is remarkable in this one. I don’t see this as dark but as transformation. Beautiful.

  4. I like this, and I can envision the lightness and all that is good, slipping into the dark, almost seamlessly. There is the way out though in the upper left. I hope things improve for you and your husband. I know how it is when times are hard, and so glad to hear that you and your husband are bouncing back. 🙂

  5. artimagica Says:

    While there is darkness in this piece, there is also bright light shining through. Perhaps that light is your love for each other or the love of friends and family that break through the darkness. It has wonderful balance and color. Lots of good energy headed your way!


Leave a Reply

