Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 16, 2011 – Bruce Moore November 7, 2011

Here is another of the wonderful winners of the Watercolor Society of Indiana Show currently hanging at the Indianapolis Museum of Art.

Olio by Bruce Moore, Watermedia on Yupo, 20" X 28"

Definition of OLIO-  a miscellaneous mixture : hodgepodge, a miscellaneous collection (as of literary or musical selections)

The Founder’s Award ( 3rd Place): Judge’s Comments

This painting has good focus and good contrast.  I like the nice, soft edges.  It is put together beautifully and has a wonderful medallion design, which one doesn’t see very often.”

Artist’s Comments:

My painting, “Olio,” is a Yupo collage painting. Yupo is a synthetic surface comprised of polypropylene. I do most of my abstract or non-representational painting on Yupo. To make the collage pieces I used sharp scissors to cut out pieces of interest from other Yupo paintings I have done. I have hundreds of these cutouts at hand so I can choose the shapes and color combinations I want. I usually apply collage to an underlying painting, or even a completed painting that needs more life to it. The underlying painting as well as the collage pieces have to be completely dry and finished with an acrylic gloss UV protected spray I use on my Yupo paintings. (If not ,the paint will wash right off if touched with water, glue or paint because Yupo is not absorbant.) I place the underlying painting down on my painting table and start picking up pieces and arranging them on the painting. I can spend hours rearranging the pieces, substituting, cutting, and so on. I often walk away so I can return for a fresh viewpoint. I am looking for evocative combinations of color and shape but my primary focus is on composition. With pre-cut forms it is easy to overwhelm the painting with too many juxtaposed forms and colors.  Only when I am fully satisfied do I begin glueing the pieces to the painting. The title I chose for this painting has as much to do with the process of its creation as it does the substance.

I hope you enjoy seeing what my fellow Indiana artists are doing. They are incredible artists and very special people.

 

2 Responses to “October 16, 2011 – Bruce Moore”

  1. Nope, sorry Linda, I just don’t care for this one. If abstract I like something with flow, movement and color balance, not sure I see any of that in this. But that’s just me, a barn painter that really likes your work. Thanks for sharing

    • Ryan, First I am really glad that you were honest with me. That shows that we are friends and that you trust me. Thank you for that validation! This is not my favorite of Bruce’s work either. He did an abstract painting on Yupo that was in the show 2 or 3 years ago that was inspired by a pond near his childhood home and another last year or the year before inspired by music. I really loved both of those. I think the judges comments are helpful when he talks about the unusual medallion design. I would never have picked up on that. When you enter the Indianapolis Museum of Art from the parking garage you walk through a sepentine tunnel that is lined on both sides with a conceptual work of art. It is a palandrome made up of 6 letters in 6 combinations of primary colors. It says “Never Odd or Even”…reads the same whether from front or back. I use it with many school tours because the linguist/artist who developed it is trying to say that art is subjective. We each have our own likes and dislikes and that is OK. It is a powerful message to teach children. They don’t have to like everything they see and neither do you. I admire Bruce for his creativity and his courage and his continual striving to learn and grow even though I can’y “get” all of his work. (Wow! Long post. Thank you for staying with me.)


Leave a Reply

