Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 6, 2011 November 6, 2011

Filed under: Collage,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:20 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Inspired by Leslie and all of the work she’s done recently using MASA paper (example here), I decided to give it a try. I first learned about Masa when I took a class in experimental watercolor from Sandy Ezell (see Related Links for her website). Her process was slightly different from the process used by Leslie. She collaged wet, crinkled Masa onto watercolor paper or illustration board and then began painting while the collage was still wet. I followed this process and created an underpainting of yellow and green. I wanted to paint a pear. It’s apple season but, being contrary, I wanted to paint something different and I do love pears. This painting is 6″ X 6″. The Masa was collaged to Liquid watercolor paper. I had a rough beginning and lost control several times. Big problem was the underpainting since the green was too strong and just made the leaves blend into the background. Oh well…a learning and a new opportunity…right?

Masa Exercise - Pear 1

 

5 Responses to “November 6, 2011”

  1. judy Says:

    Oh, I really, really love that! Yummy colors and I want to eat that pear!

  2. Beautiful color, Linda. Looks good enough to eat.

  3. hannekekoop Says:

    This painting is sparkling. I love it.

  4. Beth Parker Says:

    This is gorgeous, Linda!! By the way, you should always paint what you like! 🙂

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    Very beautiful, Linda. I like the glow this creates. I think I would lose some of my control issues by painting on the wet surface. Thank you for a new idea!


Leave a Reply

