Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

November 2, 2011 November 4, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Drawings,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:10 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Ken is home now. The pinching of the nerves in his back will probably not get much better but they have developed a good pain management program and he will be going to physical therapy for a while. They are going to do targeted radiation therapy to reduce the pain in his shoulder and to remove excess tissue in his pelvis so there is not so much pushing on the nerves. This should last for about 6 to 12 months. He is tired and sleeping and I have to keep reminding everyone that he just had chemo last Thursday and is just entering the nadir period when his blood cells are the lowest. I got tremendous support from my friends and family yesterday and made some chances to the house because they don’t want hime climbing stairs for a while.

Anyway, I have one more “hospital” drawing to show. I started this before he entered the hospital. I did an automatic drawing and then started working in watercolor. I wanted to get this completed so on the last day of his hospital stay I took my markers and finished. With this one, I tried to focus more on design and the role that the white and black can play in the composition. I am HAPPY TO BE HOME and amazed at the twists life continues to throw us.

Auto-Drawing 11022011 (9" X 12") Heavy Paper Sketchbook

 

 

8 Responses to “November 2, 2011”

  1. So much you and Ken are being challenged. I think you are wise to share it all. I always think of you. Brave ones.

  2. Linda Halcomb Says:

    Thank you Gretchen. Sometimes I wonder if I share too much but I want others to know so they can ask for information and help when they need it.

  3. Chris Carter Says:

    Your positive attitude shines through. It is strong and alive!

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Chris. Ken is home and regaining his strength. Much better day yesterday 🙂 Hope I have time to cruise through the blogs today. I miss it!

  4. Nuno Says:

    Linda, I wasn’t checking your blog lately… My best wishes for you and Ken.

    Take care.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      I am always happy when you visit. Thank you for taking time. I hope to have some time to cruise the blogs today. I really miss seeing what everyone is doing.

  5. I really admire you, Linda. It’s hard for me to find the right words since English is not my mother tongue but I do wish the best for people like you and your husband. I think it’s brave and beautiful to share this part of your life with other people who may face the same problem. I have.
    Well, I think we’re all the same in this world. Hope I’m not boring with my comment 🙂

    Charlotte xxx

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Charlotte, I admire your honesty and appreciate your comment. I want people to know about our experiences because I am here to share the knowledge and life lessons I’ve gain through Ken’s ordeal.


Leave a Reply

