Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 25, 2011 October 26, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:47 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Tomorrow Ken has his fourth round of chemo. Last night I was thinking about our journey and how much I love him. I had my sketchpad with me and did a curvy, swirly auto-drawing with some hearts in it. The word I was thinking about at the time was Heartscape – like a landscape for your emotions. I did the drawing with a black Sharpie and then, having just finished the new biography of Lee Krasner and having just watched the movie Pollack, decided to use some color to “fill-in” the blanks.

Heartscape Drawing

It’s not perfect but I learned a lot about composition and balance as I worked on this last night. Hope you enjoy… Tell someone you love them today!

 

22 Responses to “October 25, 2011”

  1. Harriett Says:

    Whit and I are reading your thoughts in Charleston, SC…. And are touched by both the sentiment and the soft lines of love.

  2. I love the heart within the drawing. It’s very nice. I’m so happy that you love your husband so much.

  3. Diane Says:

    ❤ ❤ ❤ Blessings, Best wishes and love from South Africa. Is this ATC size? There's actually a lot of skill to this picture.

    • This is in a 9″ X 12″ Bee Deluxe sketchbook with paper that is suitable for watermedia but this is done entirely with Sharpie markers. Thank you for the blessings and good wishes. Helps me start the day in a good place.

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    I think this would qualify as a true “automatic drawing of love”. 🙂 Good fortune, today! …and I will do just that. I love you…and hope that the energy I send your way today helps in some small way.

  5. muraied Says:

    Looking at this one, I have this kind of line + color painting too that i just did last week. Yours is full of love for sure. Wish both of you well 😉

  6. judy Says:

    Linda, I love the love grid! And you do see Krasner and Pollock in this fun drawing. Lucky are you and Ken to have the strong and peaceful love that eluded so many artists of that generation! Thinking of you in Round Four today. Fuerza.

  7. artimagica Says:

    This is such a fun and colorful piece. I radiates happiness which is what you get from being with Ken. Good thought coming your way!

  8. Good luck Ken. The orange sun is on my wall and I’ve placed my palm upon it to send you a few rays.

    • Keith, what a lovely thought! I am reading The Yellow House a biography of the 9 weeks that Van Gogh and Gauguin spent together in Arles. I stumbled across Van Gogh’s painting The Sower…blew me away! What a composition and what a sun!

  9. Beth Parker Says:

    This does feel like the love was overpowering any other emotions you may have been feeling. It’s light and happy! I hope the chemo is successful, Linda!

  10. Stephen Says:

    this is full of hope and lightness – my thoughts are with you and Ken

  11. Jonathan Day Says:

    How wonderfully joyful this drawing is! What love, what courage!

  12. Thank you JD…he’s a special guy!


Leave a Reply

