Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 13, 2011 October 18, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 10:13 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Haven’t been able to post for a few days because my camera was sick. I finally figured out, after trying several things, that my rechargeable batteries were shot. I bought some new lithiums and they are working fine.

Ken had his third round of chemo about a week and a half ago. We spent last week at home and he was able to run errands with me by the end of the week. He is still weak but was able to attend the opening of the Watercolor Society of Indiana show on Sunday.

This is the fifth in a series inspired by his Chemo and I tried something new. Leslie has inspired several artists to work with Masa paper collaged on watercolor paper. It can give very interesting effects. I wad and soak the paper before I collage it to my Arches CP paper. I don’t apply any color until after the collaging is complete but I often paint before the collage is dry. I use masking fluid on my paintings and I wanted to see if I could remove the masking from the Masa. You can if you apply it heavily but it doesn’t work very well. Ken really likes this particular painting and it has not motivated any modifications during my “living with it” phase. Hope you enjoy!

Chemo 5

 

6 Responses to “October 13, 2011”

  1. Love the masa paper art. Good news update about Ken. My love.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Wow! The masa paper really added another dimension to these abstracts, Linda. It gives the impression of many capillaries residing under the surface. What a cool experiment to try crumpling and soaking and not toning before adhering it to the surface. What I like best about this painting is that it looks like there is action taking place that is bringing about the “light”. Very cool.

    • Thank you Leslie. I liked the feeling of organic capillary action. I messed up because I added masking fluid before the collage was dry and it spread and absorbed the mask but it gave kind of halo or distance effect so that was a nice surprise.

  3. I feel for You and Ken, I have seen the pain of Chemo, but I have also seen the stress and physical challenge for the spouse. I pray for you both for fast and full recovery.
    The painting is amazing and I love the masa paper, it adds so much activity and texture to the painting. I’m getting very little time to paint, but I enjoy seeing my blog buddies creating wonderful art. Thanks for sharing Linda


Leave a Reply

