Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 10, 2011 October 12, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:23 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

For those of you who were interested in my post discussing automatic drawing (yesterday) check out this video from YouTube. It helped me understand a practical application.

I started working through the EDM (Every Day Matters) list of objects several months ago. I did the first three items rapidly and then got stuck. The fourth item on the list is a mug, cup or glass. I knew immediately what I wanted to show. My mother bought a cheerful set of red mugs 25 years ago. I always really liked them. They were bright red with small whte roses and bright green leaves. When Mom died in 2002, she still had two mugs from the set and I inherited them. I still use them for my morning coffee almost every day. Everytime I look at them I am still cheered by their fresh, bright color and I think of my mother. You get it…they mean a lot to me. I have this thing – I am scared to death to paint something that is extremely meaningful to me. I am afraid I will not be able to communicate what they represent for me – that I will fail them – dismally, heartbreakingly! Sunday, when I had my markers out to work on automatic drawing, I just jumped right in. This sketch is not a good one, it does not communicate well but at least I have broken through this barrier. My mug is surrounded by the orange juice, english muffin and cereal that I have for breakfast almost every day. I am a creature of habit! Done quickly and roughly but done…

EDM 4 - My Mug

 

 

11 Responses to “October 10, 2011”

  1. Chris Carter Says:

    Congratulations! I am always amazed at how barriers can crumble so easily when they have stood like steel for decades.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Warmth and joy and the promise of a new day is what I see in this painting. I like the smell of fresh coffee and the juice sets this as morning which I always view as a promise of a new day. I think you passed on “meaningful” just fine! 🙂

  3. […] to a post by Linda Halcomb, I have discovered Danny Gregory, another artist addicted to sketchbooks and the expression of […]

  4. I love it Linda and story behind the mugs. I have several such items around the house which remind me of grandparents, yet strangely nothing of my mother except a single photograph in my office window. I also drink tea from a special mug bought years ago by my dear wife. I love the painting and the simplicity and enjoy your posts so very much.

    • Keith, my mother and grandmother both collected bells. I have a beautiful crystal one beside our bed and a glass one that was owned by my grandmother beside our guest bed. We use them all the time when someone is sick. It is so much nicer to hear a ringing bell as opposed to a loud shout.

  5. Beth Parker Says:

    Linda, I just enjoyed all of your October posts. They were all wonderful, but this one is my favorite! Even before I read your post, I was drawn to it. It’s a perfect little celebration of the special mugs!

  6. I am so drawn to this painting. It is cheerful, fun, warm and makes me want to drink the. Coffee. Love it!!!

  7. Barry Coombs Says:

    I haven’t looked at the video yet but I love the energy and colour of the sketch.

  8. Bosartis Says:

    Love the quickness – it always shows an emotional element so lacking in much of art these days – well done indeed. Having a form of MND which causes me immense problems at times, I can empathise with the shaky and small brushes! Keep at it. . . .


Leave a Reply

