Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 9, 2011 October 11, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Drawings — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:48 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Last Thursday and Friday were spent at the Simon Cancer Center as we  went through Ken’s third round of chemo.  This is a journey…we just don’t know yet how it will end. I always use this time to explore – this time I am still trying to get my arms around automatic drawing and I am struggling. I have used the internet to try to understand the definition and have used YouTube to watch artists creating using automatic drawing. Some of these are clearly NOT automatic drawing. Anyway on October 7th, 8th, and 9th I created automatic drawings. I think they got more exciting as I created each new piece of work.

Automatic Drawing - October 8, 2011

Automatic Drawing Oct 7, 2011

On October 7th I started with a spiral shape and went from there. I have trouble moving away from my first shape so as I shifted I used derivatives of a spiral – ovals, circles and dots…in this case pretty ho-hum!

On October 8th, I started by drawing some intersecting lines and then began adding trapezoidal shapes. This did not fire my imagination so I began thinking about the boomerang shapes on 1950’s tabletops. I drew kidney- bean shaped amoeba like shapes and then embellished with circles and dots. ..a little better.

On Sunday, October 9th I watched several videos on YouTube, and while I don’t believe I had a break through in understanding, I was able to draw a swirling homage to nature. Not sure if it is automatic drawing but it is very pleasant to view.

Automatic Drawing - October 9, 2011

I still wonder…how is automatic drawing different from doodling?

 

12 Responses to “October 9, 2011”

  1. Chris Carter Says:

    I don’t think it is very different. Perhaps it is doodling, pushed ten times further. Maybe it is enhanced doodling.

    • And maybe it is started intentionally. When I used to sit in meetings all day my agendas would be filled with doodles but they just sort of happened. With auto drawing I intentionally start even thought I don’t start with a “vision” or idea. Maybe????

  2. theekidd Says:

    This is really interesting and has inspired me to learn about automatic drawing

  3. Harriett Smith Says:

    Very interesting, Linda.

  4. Zeinab-Art Says:

    The third one , reminds me the eastern arts. very nice!

  5. Carol King Says:

    I absolutely love all your automatic drawings. But I have the same question what IS the difference between automatic drawing and doodling?

  6. lesliepaints Says:

    I don’t think it is much different from doodling, Linda. I understood autoimatic drawing to be an extension of doodling. I also read it was random marks made on paper and from those you find images to help you create furthur. Check this out: http://www.ted.com/talks/sunni_brown.html Meg, another blogger sent it to me and it made all the difference. I will spend more time with this. Draw on! Fantastic post.


Leave a Reply

