Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 1, 2011 October 4, 2011

WHEEEEE! After several days of work I have generated a color test swatch for all of my watercolor paint materials. Reeves, Cretacolor and Derwent Inktense watercolor pencils, American Journey watercolor crayons, Pebeo, Pelikan Gouache, Cotman Travel, Yarka Kid and Professional pan sets. 201 samples in all…what a job! I agree with Carol, who mentioned that the samples posted earlier look like a work of art. That struck me right off the bat. Now that this is finished it seems even more so. The different size color blocks were not done intentionally to create something interesting but were driven by the “used” paper I had available and by the number of colors in a set. This board is now sitting in a west window…only a year to go!

Watercolor Stability Test Board

One learning happened during the preparation for the test. I used similar materials together – for example, I generated the color blocks using my watercolor pencils on the same day and back to back. It is amazing how much I learned by using the materials like this.  Three things particularly stood out. My Pebeo pan set (I believe made in France) was silky smooth and saturated…use that one more often! My Reeves and Derwent Inktense pencils dissolved more easily than my Cretacolor with Reeves (a cheaper set) having saturation and easy of use ALMOST equivalent to Inktense. Finally, I had to go over the swatches done with the crayons twice for many colors. The first patch often looked too light for testing…for the first pass I “colored” and then wet the sample. For the second layer, I used a wet brush to remove color from the crayon and then painted it on. For me, who struggles still with materials, this was all very valuable.

 

 

5 Responses to “October 1, 2011”

  1. So pretty. I have my color swatch sheets clipped to my drafting light. I use them but, more than that, I just love seeing them hanging over my art table.

    • I have a double sided sheet of Arches that is filled with the watercolors on my palette. This includes “color mixes”. I keep it on a light easel by my drawing table and it is easy to find when I need it and attractive to look at.

  2. carolzart Says:

    Great job on this, I should do one!

    Thank you for visiting my blog and for your comments. Your watercolors are beautiful, I look forward to seeing more!

  3. Carol King Says:

    your stayfast testing is art in it’s own right. I like your squares and rectangles of color. They look like weaving to me.


Leave a Reply

