Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

September 25, 2011 September 28, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:02 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

As you know I am currently painting several ATC’s to build an inventory of them to give to my family with their Christmas cards. I have been working on tomatoes and geraniums and watercolor and pastel and colored pencil. Today I am posting my first abstract ATC. It is inspired by my husband’s current chemotherapy treatment program. I am always torn between the dark aspects of cancer and the hopeful side. I think I always try to find a beautiful way to present the dark and the light of things. Working this small was an interesting challenge! I used my normal method and my normal watercolors and I think the colors I’ve been working with for my latest geranium paintings predominate…must have been subliminal!

Chemo 1 - ATC

 

 

8 Responses to “September 25, 2011”

  1. I love the raspberry in the lower right. In the upper left the beautiful blue with the tiny gold spots floating down. Like angels coming to help.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    As I face a hardship, now and then, I think of your cancer watercolors, Linda. I can, then, smile. Thank you for sharing them.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Your welcome. I am not normally this open about personal problems but I have learned so much and cancer is such a life changer that I hope to be able to share and comfort and give hope to others.

  3. beautifully expressed with both words and brush, Linda. a subtle, powerfull link between the two – the light and dark of hope and cancer – in your delicate color shifts and strong shapings.

    my heart and thoughts go with you. aloha

  4. artimagica Says:

    Linda, I think you have expertly balanced the “light and dark” with this ATC. I haven’t been visiting in a while and I scanned down through your posts to see your work. The ATC’s you have been producing are lovely. Your family will be thrilled. I love how you express your world and emotions through your art. K

  5. Linda Halcomb Says:

    Thank you so much! It helps to shift part of the load to my art.


Leave a Reply

