Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

September 22, 2011 September 26, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:38 am
Tags: , , , , ,

A fellow artist and blogger recently posted a message in which he discussed color testing your new paints, inks and other types of pigments. You can see his message here. His results surprised me because such a high percentage (IMO) of the pigments tested failed. Since I am still such a novice I don’t routinely think about issues like this and I really need to start thinking like a “real” artist. I organized all of my tube colors and prepared color swatches for testing. That included all of the colors recently given to me by my retiring fellow docent.

Color Test Group 1 - Not Exposed to Light

I  organized everything alphabetically by color group and recorded the brand name. This is the group that is now sealed away in a manilla envelop so they are protected from the light.

This is the group that is being exposed to ambient light.

Color Test 2 - Exposed to the Light

Watch for the results in September, 2012!

 

 

12 Responses to “September 22, 2011”

  1. This is an interesting problem and artists don’ t necessarily think about color fastness until they have an issue with it or it is pointed out to them. When I was in my early 20’s I was creating stretched, fine art batik paintings. Now I had zero art training. I just was doing something that was fun. Then they began to sell. After a few years a couple past customers returned my paintings. They had faded a lot. I was using Rit dye from the super market. Seems hard to believe. How could I have been that dense? I replaced their faded paintings and began to research dyes. It was all on the path to becoming more professional in the handling of my art. I am self taught…largely….so it has been a lengthy process. I now guarantee all my art because I make sure that before it leaves me for a new home that it could pass inspection by a high end gallery, an archival framer, and the postmaster general.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Now that I am having a little success with my painting I need to get serious. I never want to disrespect anyone who is interested in my art. I guess this is part of becoming a professional.

  2. hannekekoop Says:

    Thank you for sharing this.

  3. Wayside Artist Says:

    Great post. I have been thinking about starting some of these tests, so it’s really helpful to see how you gone about the project.
    Thanks!
    Nanina

  4. Francis Says:

    Greak work Linda, hope to see the outcome next year. i’am using Holbein, not sure if it’s realiable or not. So far my art work have yet get direct expose to sun light. May be i try to expose one of it and see any difference. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Linda Halcomb Says:

    I think it will be worth your time, Francis. I’m so impatient that I want the answer now but there is no way to speed it up.

  6. lesliepaints Says:

    Good idea, Linda. I noticed a couple years ago how faded my beginning watercolors were. I used the cheaper student grade watercolors back then. Even under UV glass and stowed away in an archival portfolio, they have begun to fade. So far, I have had no problem with the artist grade paints. (knock on wood). Good job! This must have taken a huge block of time.

  7. Carol King Says:

    I can’t wait until September 2012. I love your swatches as an art piece in and of itself.


Leave a Reply

