Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

September 21, 2011 September 24, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:06 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Happy fall to all of you! I know I am a little late. That’s the story of my life right now. If you’re confused by the titles of my blog, let me explain. The title at the top is the date that I completed the piece of art, activity or exercise included in the post. That’s why you may find a post titled “June” in my July archive. Just thought I would clear that up if you’ve ever wondered…

Here’s a new ATC and I am again celebrating the glorious geranium. During this horrible, hot, killing summer they were the only flowers that I could keep alive in a flower pot. They required daily watering – occasionally twice a day – but they made it through and are in profuse bloom. Vive la Geranium!

Pink Geranium - ATC

This is watercolor and I again flocused on painting shapes rather than individual petals. This morning I started two new ATC’s. I put down a watercolor underpainting and am going to do a teeny-tiny Chemo series painting (Yikes – should be interesting!) and do another geranium but this time using some pastel pencils I bought on close out at United Arts & Education. I’ve never worked with pastels and am using watercolor paper so WE WILL SEE…

 

6 Responses to “September 21, 2011”

  1. Beautiful colors, Linda.

  2. ruthsartwork Says:

    I love your sets of atcs, Linda. These geranium ones are really nice. I was also trying to take pictures of my flower beds this summer to use over the winter when the mood struck me.

    I have had a lot of trouble keeping my flowers alive this summer too. It got so bad I was watering my wave petunias to save them. They were so beautiful with all of the volunteers that I didn’t want to lose them. Thank goodness for the rain we got last week although it is a little late for most of the flowers.

  3. Linda Halcomb Says:

    I have loads of photos. Now I just need to get motivated to paint them!

  4. jeighdeigh Says:

    These are so different from your abstract pieces, and yet I see the same sure sense of what needs to go where. Lovely work.


Leave a Reply

