Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

September 17, 2011 September 21, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 3:21 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I am trying to build up my stock of ATC’s so I have enough to give my rather large family at Christmastime. My latest subject is flowers and particularly geraniums. I’ve been walking around my yard with my camera shotting marigolds, geraniums, zinnas, tomatoes, anything that looks interesting. I’ve switched back to watercolor and am trying to paint shapes rather than individual petals. So far, so good.

Red Geranium - ATC

I do not normally do an underpainting for the ATC’s but in this case I did. It turned out pretty well…much better than a plain white background.

 

4 Responses to “September 17, 2011”

  1. judy Says:

    I’m liking it a lot, Linda! I like that chamois color in the upper right, and the loose, pale background colors. Currently my own geranium leaves are showing yellowing ~ due to my obsessive overwatering, I do believe. I could see some touches of that chamois color working its way into the leaves of the ATC a little bit, could you? (Or is that just me wanting to say, “Oh, yes, everyone’s geraniums are overwatered and yellow like this!”)

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Judy, that’s a very interesting comment. I “touched in” a small amount of yellow ochre on the leaves but then lost it as I worked on values. My geraniums are still green except for the leaves that are dead because I underwater. I have been thinking about doing an end of summer tomatoe painting with the dry, curling leaves…better get to it or they will be gone!

  2. Just wanted to say thanks again for the beautiful and delicious ATC of the tomatoes. I sent you one not expecting one back but I’m thrilled that I did. I’m trying to get others now to trade with me so that I can get them all framed together. Thanks again, and prayers!


Leave a Reply

