Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

September 2, 2011 September 4, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:42 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I am posting the fourth in a series of watercolor paintings that (I hope!) present my hopes and feelings as my husband goes through chemotherapy. He has had his first treatment and I am very grateful to be able to say he has not yet had many of the most horrible side effects. He is extremely tired and weak. With this painting on Kilimanjaru CP paper. I wanted to give a feeling of something active entering the blood stream and from there the body. To do this I did my painting and then floated the puddle of yellow-green (which of course because it had blue underneath became green…DUH!). I always think of chartreuse as a very active, acidic color so it seemed to be perfect for the task.

Chemo 4

You will probably be thrilled to hear that I am working on a couple of ATC’s of cherry tomatoes. They are and will be for you a good break from my chemo paintings. Have a wonderful holiday tomorrow. After this HOT summer, Indiana is supposed to cool and refreshing weather.

 

15 Responses to “September 2, 2011”

  1. Beautiful painting Linda,
    There are so many emotional and physical challenges that come with cancer, not just for the person going through it, but also for the people around that person. There is so much cancer out there, the first fear is finding out that you may have cancer. And then when you find out that you or someone you love has cancer, it just rips your heart out. I pray for your husband and for you, because I know how hard it is for the loved one as well. Prayers and thoughts your way.

  2. Thank you Ryan! We have many friends like you sending positive wishes and prayers our way. I am convinced they all help us to face this demon. We know we are not it alone…

  3. hannekekoop Says:

    This painting has such a beautiful brightness in the center.
    Maybe a silly question, but what is an ATC?

    • Hi Hanneke, Thank you for the comment. An ATC is an Artist Trading Card. They are 2 1/2″ X 3 1/2″, the size of a baseball trading card. The ATC movement started in the 1990’s when artists wanted to trade original artwork. These very small paintings gave them a chance to do this without a significant investment of time or money. There are several sites on the internet that are used by ATC makers and that explain what is happening today. These small paintings became very popular and artists began selling them and having prints made from them. If you see an ACEO that is an ATC that is commercially available as an original or print. Hope that helps. As I said there is loads of information available on the internet.

  4. Teri C Says:

    It is a beautiful painting with its of emotion.

  5. Stephen Says:

    Thank you for sharing your paintings and writings – this sounds like an awful journey to be on and yet look at these beautiful paintings – I have flipped through some of your earlier work and this one here represents something very special in your growth as an artist.
    To be honest I have shied away from abstract work but this piece speaks plainly and with such emotion of hope that could only emerge in pain.
    My thoughts are with you and your husband.

    • Stephen, thank you for stopping by. I know I haven’t been visiting very often but I hope tyo do better. I have found that my abstracts allow me to try non-traditional techniques and to let loose and have fun because I seem to have fewer boundaries (all in my mind, of course!). Your work is evolving very rapidly and is wonderful! If it ever seems to get too tight or stressful try something non-representational with a non-traditional material or technique. It loosens you right up!

  6. jeighdeigh Says:

    I have the greatest admiration for your courage, and for your capacity to transform suffering into beauty. I’ve said it before but, once again, I hope very much that you and your husband find yourselves in calmer, more pleasant waters soon.

    • Thank you for your kindness. The chemo has significantly reduced the bone pain – after only one treatment. This is a wonderful benefit…next treatment next week…we’ll see how that one goes. we are hoping for the best.

  7. gruntledpainter Says:

    I really like this one….somehow you’ve managed to take something that is very negative in nature and distill it down into a tranquil, almost peaceful piece. Great work.

  8. Beth Parker Says:

    Ooooo! Beautiful painting, Linda!! I also love all the different tomatoes. I hope your husband recovers completely! ((hugs))


Leave a Reply

