Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

August 15, 2011 August 16, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:54 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Maybe I am making them look too cute but I am enchanted by the strength and power of the Spirit Bear. They are such beautiful creatures. I think it is the ATC format. It looks like I am working very broadly when in reality the format is small. Anyway I am not apologizing and am very happy with the two ATC’s I’ve created. I know my family will love them.

Spirit Bear 2

 

 

11 Responses to “August 15, 2011”

  1. Judy Stohler Says:

    They will indeed love them, Linda! This happy guy with his salmon makes me smile!

  2. Harriett Smith Says:

    I’ve said it before, but I honestly think these are my favorite pictures in your entire body of work. I am absolutely mesmerized. They are depictions of the depth and breadth of spirit. I see the soul at work here.
    Harriettt

    • I really have fun with the little “Artist Trading Card” format. It seems so informal and I don’t worry or fret. I just have fun. And the spirit bear is honored and protected by the native people. Such a great story (thank you National Geographic!)

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    COLOR. COLOR. I am liking the color in these A LOT!

  4. ooha wow. aloha Linda. these Spirit ATCs are beauties.

    yeah, that is one of the things i like about ATCs too (among many). loose and easy and fun, okay several things i like about ATCs – and there are a lot more. what i like about these ATCs – in addition to what you’ve mentioned – is how the entire work is “of one world” – the paint is all of one kind of approach and it adds up beautifully. you have a great feel in these. they feel like watercolor and they push forward the character OF watercolor – or one of the characters. way wow, cool.

    i find myself thinking periodically about the relationship between the size of my working format (my paper) and the size of the brush i choose to work with. . . so for instance how big was the brush you used in relationship to the ATC size? then i think… why not see if i can at least approach that same relationship when i jump to a larger format size for my ground (yeah, in some cases that would be a brush slightly smaller than the size of a sequoia – yeah, the redwoods of California aught to work about right – sometimes). . . and then approach the work the same way – loose – free – fun – all of one spirit – with a subject i am naturally and enthusiastically drawn too.

    way cool, Linda

    yeah, lucky family you have to receive these.

  5. Halla Says:

    Your spirit bears are beautiful. I’m sure your family memebers will love them.

  6. Carol King Says:

    Another beautiful bear with a yummy pink salmon.

  7. ruthsartwork Says:

    These are lovely Linda. I’m sure your family will enjoy them. I think ATCs are a great break from the larger works too. I know they help me to free up myself from the more detailed things and help refresh my artist eye. These seemed like they were a lot of fun for you and there is a great deal of happiness in them.

  8. Androgoth Says:

    I have called here from Beth’s Space and you
    have done a lovely watercolour here, I don’t think
    that it looks too cute, it is just a nice pieceof artistry…

    Well done 🙂

    Androgoth

  9. Great colors, but, prefer my salmon Grilled!


Leave a Reply

