Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

August 3, 2011 August 3, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:53 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Like a bad penny I am back. I hate jumping in and out of blogging like I have been doing but I have no choice. I miss you all. Ken was just released from the hospital after spending 6 nights there. It has been a very tough and frustrating time. When he went in he was dehydrated, low blood pressure, ear infection, cold sweats, chills, etc and extreme weakness. They have resolved all the little problems but he still has little appetite and is tired and weak. They said patients recover to 90% and hit a wall. The last 10% is your appetite and strength so not to get depressed, Just have a plan and work to get better and stronger each day. It doesn’t matter what you do or where you start – just start and try to do a little more each day. Sounds a little like art, doesn’t it?

I did have two paintings finished when he got sick so I have shot digital images and am posting the first today. We are still in this horrendous heat wave and are close to breaking an all time record for number of days in a row over 90 degrees. So my paintings are still driven be this stresser. This painting is called Sun Trails.

Sun Trails

When I painted this I was thinking about the double images you sometimes see when the weather is this hot. Also about the time lapse photographs taken of the moon or sun that show the sun/moon moving across the sky. I used a portrait view intentionally because I feel it is more powerful and that the sun is beating/looking directly down on me with no relief and no let up.

 

14 Responses to “August 3, 2011”

  1. Jonathan Day Says:

    This is a very strong painting. The deep contrasts, the flow from top to bottom, like lightning, the use of complementary colors, are all just electric. Much more could be said, all of it good.

    May Ken’s appetite and strength return quickly, and may the temperatures outside drop! I very much hope that you two find yourself in some calm waters soon.

    • Thank you Jonathan! This painting was an interesting one to paint. I struggled but I kept working with it and I think the final painting has alot of movement. Is it HOT where you are at?

  2. I’m surprised you paint at all, Linda. But, then, I use my painting to chill and if I lay off for two long I will suffer. That chemo does a number on the immune system. I’m very sorry that Ken and you have to go through this. I do believe that there is a purpose for everything even if we don’t know what it is at the moment.
    Love all your circles. Life!!!!

    • Gretchen, I feel the same way. If I don’t draw or paint often I feel like I have forgotten everything I ever know. I am trying to approach it more like riding a bicycle – work intuitively. Sometimes it does seem so natural!

  3. hannekekoop Says:

    I clicked on the painting and watched it for a while. I think it is amazing, so strong. My son (13) saw it and said “Wow”.

  4. Judy Stohler Says:

    Linda, that column of relentless yellow heat is so strong you can feel its intensity. It makes me want to jump into your painting and wrench you free from its oppressive hold. You and Ken have been navigating some rough waters. I think it’s well-advised to let each effort nourish your soul and take one step, then another, then another. And pat your brave self on the back.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Thank you Judy, I was surprised at how well the yellow column turned out. I couldn’t tell until until the painting dried. Ken continues to improve but slowly.

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    The center of this looks like a lava lamp, or gives me that feeling. And lave lamps, when plugged in, are relentless in their movement. I really like those darks in the background, Linda. I am sorry to hear about your husbands setback and hope with each day he is a bit stronger, now.

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Leslie, The lava lamp analogy is a good one. Near the end of the time i spent painting this I began to see bubbles boiling to the surface. Surface of what I don’t know!

  6. Sue Brown Says:

    You have a lot to contend with right now. Good that you have your beautiful art as a channel to express your feelings. Good for us too 🙂

    • Linda Halcomb Says:

      Art really gives us a place to escape…and explore, and learn and have fun doesn’t it? We are so lucky.

  7. Zeinab-Art Says:

    Beautiful painting dear Linda! I hope your husband will recover very soon.


Leave a Reply

