Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

July 22, 2011 July 23, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:11 am
Tags: , , , ,

We are all hot, tired, grumpy and feeling less than well. Ken has had an ear infection for four weeks. We have finished two rounds of antibiotics and decongestants with no improvement so we are scheduled to see an ENT doc next week. Is that enough whining? Sorry, we are all, including the critters a bit down.

Now I must say MUCH of our whining is caused by this hellacious weather. Days and days of temps at or near 100 and humidity that is through the roof! Truly miserable! And inspiring. I have started a new series of paintings that are inspired by the emotions caused by this extreme weather. I call my first  painting Hot! Heat! Howl! Says it all…

Hot! Heat! Howl!

 

 

7 Responses to “July 22, 2011”

  1. Chris Carter Says:

    Adverse situations definitely bring out your strengths! I’m not wishing you ill, but I am hoping that whatever brings forth these awesome paintings will cross over into your “good times” too! Your orbs are bringing you into new territory in giant steps. I love them!

    • Thank you Chris! I do love those circles, orbs, spheres. For me they are basic and primary…even primal – the sun, the moon, the earth…I am drawn to this shape more than about anything.

  2. Heat does play with emotions. At the beginning of summer and at the onset of the first heat wave I am too irritable to stand myself. Your painting looks like my state during heat. Nice painting. Sorry to hear about Ken’s infection. Hope for recovery soon.

    • Thank you Gretchen! I always try to maintain my composure but eventually I always have my cranky moments. This summer is so hot and humid – a true extreme – and this painting shows how explosive people are right now. I am seeing it particularly in the way people drive. Watch out when you’re on the road in Indy!

  3. Rachel Heu Says:

    Hi Linda– Thanks for stopping by my blog. Yes! I love this bold use of color… this would turn around my hot weather misery… that, and some ice-cold tea with lemon 🙂

  4. mercedezhart Says:

    Beautiful use of color. I love the contrast between these bold colors. This is such an electrifying piece, I couldn’t help but just stare at it.


Leave a Reply

