Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

June 8, 2011 June 10, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:54 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have not been blogging much for the last few days because our week which was almost entirely open suddenly filled up with appointments. Don’t you hate it when that happens? Anyway I did want to let everyone know that we DID get a third and final vaccine for Ken so he completed the entire Provenge program. Now we watch and wait! He has a full round of testing in six weeks to see how things have changed since the vaccine infusions began in March. It has been a long hard slog but we are very hopeful now. I have been trying to get this painting completed. It will probably be my last “cancer series” painting for awhile. I think I need to move on. I was thing about a sunny day when I started so I titled it “O Happy Day”.  I’m not totally happy with it because it got a little dark top and bottom but, oh well, I’m happy with the painting and that this phase is over. Thanks to all of you for your positive thoughts, kindness and encouragement. I truly appreciate it.

O Happy Day

 

 

12 Responses to “June 8, 2011”

  1. Zeinab-Art Says:

    It shows that a life is going on! 😀 a nice painting.

  2. Chris Carter Says:

    Moving on is always a good thing. There is such strength, sensitivity and beauty in this series. I am sure that you will bring all you have learned into your new work. I do hope that the circles follow you along your journey.

    • My circles have been there for me through 3 series and I know my circles, squares and triangles will are there waiting to re-emerge. Chris, thank you for your kindness throughout the last few months. I appreciate it!

  3. The most interesting thing about beginning a new phase in life is that you never know what it will hold. You have been so positive and had so much courage that I can’t help but think that this new time will be rewarding.

    • Gretchen, Thank you for your support and positive words. The kindness of all my blogging friends has been inspirational. My youngest daughter is getting married in July and we had her bridal shower yesterday My daughters asked me if I would read something – maybe from Dickinson – since they were not having games and wanted something to kick off the gift opening. I had once been blessed with a Native American Blessing and I was able to find the Apache Wedding Blessing to “give” to my daughter and her future husband. The words are meaningful, deep and beautiful. I thought of you and your love for and understanding of our native culture. Thanks for helping me stretch and learn.

  4. Good luck with everything! I always read no matter if you update or not, I just browse your amazing archives…I do like this piece though. It reminds me of twilight or dusk. I think mistakes like dark spots always work themselves out. Glad to have you back.

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    Well.I actually love the darks being shoved away by this “sunny day”! Notto worry. This is incredibly interesting and would catch my eye had I happened upon it in a show. Lovely, just lovely, Linda. 🙂 Good news and I love that, too!

  6. jeighdeigh Says:

    I am very happy to hear that you and your husband are going to have a respite. May it be a very long one. And again, I have nothing but admiration for your poise, as you walk this very rocky road.

    The darks at the top and bottom, for my money, are what make this painting. They make the light look that much brighter, and warmer. A delightful piece.


Leave a Reply

