Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Reminder: End of Spring Challenge June 6, 2011

Just a reminder!

Hi all you creative types! Last year we did three virtual paint-outs here on WordPress and boy were they fun. I am issuing the call for our first paint out of 2011. I am a devoted reader of Oprah magazine and this month I was captured, I was enchanted, I was gripped by six words from a poem by e. e. cummings. I am a farm girl who grew up among the green fields and forests of Indiana. The words that captured my imagination are “the leaping greenly spirits of trees”. I would like to offer these as the inspiration for our first paint out. I hope everyone reading this realizes that the “Paint Out” is open to all artists whether you paint with a brush, a needle, a word processor.

On the last day of Spring, Monday, June 20th, please post your creation on your blog and leave a comment on my post. If you are not a blogger and would still like to participate, email me your creation and I will do a follow-up post with your work.

Thanks to all who join the community and accept the challenge.

 

14 Responses to “Reminder: End of Spring Challenge”

  1. Beth Parker Says:

    “the leaping greenly spirits of trees” How Fun!!! I will try to participate, Linda. Thanks for doing this! 🙂

  2. Sorry that I haven’t visited for awhile, but things are getting back to normal and I hope that by June 20th, I’ll have leaping trees!

  3. thewhiteswan Says:

    What a challenge,..but I’m in! 🙂
    Karen

  4. sketchjay Says:

    Great challenge. Something new for me but I am going to give it a go. Thank you!

    • Alex Zonis Says:

      What a great challenge! I love the idea of “the leaping greenly spirits of trees”! Not exactly a tree hugger (which seems to have become a somewhat derogatory term), I am very much into the spirit of trees none-the-less. I am not sure I would participate though. I exploring still life with oil at this time and have two watercolor portraits in the works. I will be thinking of this opportunity however. Who knows, perhaps I will paint a tree… Thank you for coming up with this!

  5. Doing this. Can’t wait great idea sugar!

  6. […] ART CHALLENGE:   For those of you who might be interested in stretching your creativity, Linda has offered up an end of spring challenge here:  https://lindahalcombfineart.wordpress.com/2011/06/06/reminder-end-of-spring-challenge/#comments […]

  7. gregorbucik Says:

    sounds like a great challenge 😀 if i’ll find some free time this week i’m in!! 🙂

  8. raji Says:

    I just finished a painting on the arrival of spring.Thanks for the opportunity!

  9. artimagica Says:

    Sounds like fun! I still have time so I’m in!

  10. Jamie Dedes Says:

    Nice challenge! Would that I were an artisit.

    Here from Leslie White.

  11. eaglewing12 Says:

    http://theyearofcreativity.wordpress.com/2011/07/20/bonsai-tree-watercolour-ink/
    Is my entry – Bonsai in a pot – spring all year around.


Leave a Reply

