Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 31, 2011 June 4, 2011

Filed under: Daily Post,Drawings,Uncategorized — lindahalcombfineart @ 5:40 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Yikes! I recently realized that I did not have a single new drawing that I could enter in The Indiana State Fair fine art competition. The fair is near and dear to my heart because I was a long time 4-Her in my youth, because the people that run the fine arts area are incredibly nice and because I sold a drawing and a painting two years ago. Over 100,000 people tour the fine arts building. What an oppotunity to have your work seen!

While I was doing research for my American Modernism tour I became familiar with the B&W cloud photographs of Alfred Stieglitz (primarily titled Equivalents). During summers at his family home on Lake George, Stieglitz would go “a-skying” and that’s when he took most of these photos. They are beautiful and very special and after his death O’Keefe gave 19 of them to the Phillips Gallery in Washington DC. Duncan Phillips had been trying to buy them for years. I found the photos in the catalog for a show called In the American Grain: Marin, O’Keefe, Dove, Hartley & Steiglitz at the Phillips. I decided to see if I could draw clouds with graphite. My first drawing included a sunset – very hard to work with in graphite, dumb me – and was a mess but my second drawing came out better. It’s just a start and I may have to divert to get something ready for the fair but this is challenging and a great oppotunity for me to learn.

 

6 Responses to “May 31, 2011”

  1. ruthsartwork Says:

    Nice second try, Linda. I myself have trouble with skies, so I appreciate what you are saying. It is so easy for it to turn into dirty blobs. Hope you have fixative for that graphite if you’re keeping it. LOL

    I never knew anyone who exibited in the IN state fair. Do you have to go through the county fairs first? Might be something to try and maybe get a chance to meet?

    • Hi Ruth, you do NOT have to go through a county fair first for the adult competitions. The State Fair Catalog is online if you want to look at it. It’s a big one but you can probably search on fine arts or painting or watercolor and get to where you need to go – be sure you are in the fine arts section. You deliver actual works not images and then they do the judging. Juried in pieces are hung on the first floor and the “Salon de Refuse” is on the third floor. We could absolutely meet if you enter. Maybe I can show you my beloved IMA…

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Whispy and light. Very nice, Linda!

  3. Carol King Says:

    A lovely sky. I like this.


Leave a Reply

