Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 26, 2011 May 27, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:59 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

This has been a good and productive week but I have not been very ambitious or successful with my painting. Good stuff – My grandson is out of Afghanistan and back at his base in Germany. He is coming home for a month’s leave around June 11. YEAH!!!!  Also I haven’t mentioned it yet (other things on my mind!) but I was honored to win third place in the Southside Art League members show with my painting Geraniums in Dappled Sunshine. And I have been productive because I developed the first draft of a tour on American Modernism to use for one of my public tours. I am going to cover the first 50 years of the 20th Century and the Armory Show of 1913. Everything up to Abstract Expressionism and how we got there. Did you know Arthur Dove was the first American to paint an abstract painting? Kandinsky, of course, was the first ever to do it.

The last time I posted I was having trouble with a small 6″ X 6″ painting. Well, I fiddled and diddled and came close and messed up. There’s only so much you can do in a 6″ X 6″ space so I eventually turned the paper over and decided to do another experiment looking at cells. I have been interested to see if I can find a way to use Easy-Release dots that they sell at Staples and Office Max. I thought by layering I might be able to get some interesting cell like shapes. With my earlier try I didn’t let the paper dry well enough and the dots just ripped up the surface of the paper. This time I had fairly good success because I let the paper dry overnight. Still don’t know if I like it but I am learning how to work with something new. Here’s my final piece…

Cells 3

 

9 Responses to “May 26, 2011”

  1. Chris Carter Says:

    Congratulations!

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Congratulations on your award, linda. Thank you for the tip on the artist Arthur Dove. I googled him. I like the inclusion of the other resist technique in this piece.

  3. Artswebshow Says:

    Congrats for the award.
    I like this artwork the lines run through in such a way that the cells are actually fusing

  4. aloha Linda – yeah. i like this a lot. a lot. a lot. – the color is terrific. and the movement. the organic free flow of the line vs the more geometric circles. very – way cool fun! bwahahahahaha. yeah.

    i also really like the way you’re experimenting with ideas and approach/process. yeah, sometimes patience has a reward. i remember learning about masking fluids in this same way. wait. no. wait longer. no. wait. i mean really wait. bwahahahahaha.

    oh – and the edges of your circles – with the seep-unders and thin line and thick line making each circle individual and unique, yeah i like that too. . cool. aloha.

    • ps. ha. i meant to say congratulations on your award and way cool on your tour project as well. yeah, Arthur Dove does not always get as much attention as i think he deserves (even tho he is recognized and in major collections all over the place). way cool on bringing him into the circle.

  5. Carol King Says:

    Yay for your grandson getting out of Afghanistan and Yay for your award. I like the larger round rings in this…reminds me of coffee cup stains. I also like the other round shapes with the continuation of the lines you’ve used in your other paintings. Overall a great painting.


Leave a Reply

