Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 19, 2011 May 21, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 2:10 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I want to thank everyone for sending such kind wishes our way. I am happy to tell you that we did get a vaccine this week. Ken had his infusion on Thursday and has had very few side effects. We just got the schedule for what we hope will be the final round of vaccine. Thank you again!

I painted two small “Cells” paintings over the last two days. I am having some trouble with these smaller pieces. I feel like both of the paintings got too dark. In an effort to prevent a pastel look I am using too many colors that are dark and serious and in too many layers. With these little sizes I seem to get the best results when I finish in three layers. Something for me to keep working on…

Cells 2

I also have some composition problems that I am thinking about on the second painting so I will probably show it tomorrow. Today’s painting is on the 6″ X 8″ Fluid watercolor paper and I did have some trouble with the surface of the paper lifting off but this was my fault since I did not let everything dry long enough. So impatient!

 

12 Responses to “May 19, 2011”

  1. Jonathan Day Says:

    Very happy to hear you got the vaccine. Got fingers crossed here.

    The watercolors: I actually find the dark suggestive, evocative. I hope you keep the ones you’re not happy with, for a second look later.

  2. Harriett Smith Says:

    I see dawn breaking in this painting.

  3. cindyinsd Says:

    I actually quite like this. I like the juxtaposition of the lights and the darks. Plus, the light at the top middle right looks like either a destination or the sun breaking through. Really nice!

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    I rather like the darks in this, Linda. In fact, my first thought was, “from out of the depths comes life”. Not bad for what you and Ken have been going through. Yay! Thank you for sharing about the vaccine…….

  5. I absolutley love ehat you are doing in this series of paintings. This is so inspiring. The colors liberated from set objects, allowed to vibrate and sing on their own. I absolutely love your work. I am putting a link to this site on mine. If that’s not okay, please let me know. Robert

  6. Chris Carter Says:

    I think these are exceptional.


Leave a Reply

