Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 17, 2011 May 18, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Uncategorized,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:40 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Ken had another round of stem cell harvesting on Monday and since then I have been thinking about blood, blood cells, machines and the prisms that are used to process the blood. All of this sturm and drang let to  my first Cells painting. This painting is 12″ X 16″ on Kilimanjaro paper. As you can see, I included a couple of new elements this time.

Cells 1

In the past I’ve always used only one diameter for the circles but, in this case, I was thinking about blood cells – white, red, platelets, stem cells – different sizes and colors. I also was focused on the light that I watch each time we go through this harvesting step. Deep down in the machine, the nurses monitor a line of light that is supposed to have a red line running through it. There are times when occurences coincide fortuitously (how’s that for a mouth full!). Last week a friend of mine gave me a stash of art supplies that included artist’s tape which I had never seen or used before. Last week watercoloredhands (may 13, 2011) had a post that described her use of artist’s tape to paint the edges of a building in a piece she is working on. Everything came together and I used the artist’s tape to develop the rays of light. At one point I thought I had “lost it” because the painting looked too dark. After it dried it resembled the colors you see when working with blood and plasma.

Wish us well – tomorrow morning we find out if we got a vaccine from this run!

 

17 Responses to “May 17, 2011”

  1. judy Says:

    The energy and complex activity keep me looking and looking and looking, Linda. Like a great book that you just can’t put down. Surely it portends a fruitful result. Will keep my fingers and toes crossed!

  2. artimagica Says:

    Before I had a chance to read your description of this piece my immediate reaction was WOW! I LOVE it. It has wonderful color and movement and composition. I can read your meaning from it but also others. It makes me think of the cosmos and planets and tracks through space. It’s lovely, Linda.

    • I like what you see. I am fascinated by space and geometry and, even though right now my paintings have a specific inspiration, I think my other ideas and interests seem to get incorporated. By the way, I am going to add you to my blogroll. I hope you don’t mind!

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    I sincerely hope that you got a vaccine from this run, Linda.
    This painting is beautiful. I love what the artist tape did for this. Those “light” bars running through all that dark red is awesome.

    • Thank you, Leslie. I thought the effect I got with the tape was very exciting. The tip that Yevgenia gave that was the most helpful as to tape it to cloth or your clothes first so the adhesive was not so strong. This works great!

  4. Francis Says:

    It does resemble blood at first glance, especially on the top part of the painting where the Red touches the blue. Amazing perception, you are really talented especially in translating your thought into paper. Great work.

  5. jeighdeigh Says:

    I most fervently wish you well (the painting is wonderful, too — a marvelous concatenation of fortuitous serendipity).

  6. ruthsartwork Says:

    I hope Ken’s treatment goes well this week.

    I love the way the colors shine through the geometry of this painting.

  7. Emma Says:

    Your paintings are amazing. The composition and the colors filled with such energy; love the artwork!

  8. Yousei Hime Says:

    Just curious. Any thoughts of marketing these, say to doctor’s offices? Many are bright, colorful and cheering, apart from the trials you are both enduring.

    • I had not thought of that idea but it is very interesting. I had thought of another opportunity. Eli Lilly Pharmaceutical Co. is headquartered in Indianapolis where I live. Every two years they have an Oncology on Canvas competition. It is open to paintings done by patients, family members, caregivers… It is very competitive. In 2010 they had over 500 entries with 30 being selected. It is a presitige show that tours globally. I believe the 2010 competition opens at a gallery in London. I have thought about entering this but I hope I can see the current show. In the meantime I just keep painting.


Leave a Reply

