Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 12, 2011 May 13, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:27 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Even though Ken and I have resumed many of our activities I have been very productive this week. I continued to use colors from nature for this painting. It is a 12″ X 16″ painting on Kilimanjaro CP watercolor paper.

Flow 6

This is another in the Flow series and – YES – you will notice immediately that the Circles are BACK! Missed those little charmers. I was very happy with the way the layers of pure color merged to form the rusty color in the base. This is one of those paintings that I felt compelled to turn and turn and turn. Which is the top, which is the bottom? It can really be hung any way. At least I thought so until my husband said “Is that upside down?” I guess there really is a “right” way – and that is the way I painted it. Have a wonderful, sun filled day!

 

10 Responses to “May 12, 2011”

  1. Zeinab-Art Says:

    something would be lost if the circles were absent. these colors are beutiful Linda, continue paint with them.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Do you think he related the earthtones to landforms and the blue to the sky? What I find most interesting about your circles is that they slow the movement down in these flow paintings. They offer a place for the eye to stop and rest. The ones you create, without them, have a great deal of explosive energy.
    Interesting and very good!

  3. Circles are addictive. If you turned the painting ‘upside down,’ the swirling blue could be a tumultuous sea.

    • I saw the swirling sea too. I intended for the circle on the right to be center of interest and I haven’t done a painting with focal point on the right for awhile so I stayed with the original orientation.

  4. I LOVE this one, Linda! Keep it up! You are developing an awesome series!

  5. Sue Brown Says:

    Beautiful.

    Sue

  6. jeighdeigh Says:

    I’m kind of like your husband, Linda, with respect to abstract work. But as someone who works in watercolor, I must say that I find your handling of the medium very impressive. I especially admire the way that you manage those rich wet-into-wet textures, while at the same time maintaining crisp boundaries between color areas. And of course your orchestration of colors is delightful. Thanks much, and keep it up!


Leave a Reply

