Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 11, 2011 May 12, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 6:42 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Humans are never happy are they? Too much rain! Now too much heat! Too much humidity! Whine, whine, whine! But actually I did have a productive day yesterday. A friend did several repair projects, the dogs got a good long walk and this little painting is done.

Flow 5

This painting is 6″ X 8″ on Fluid watercolor paper and I had no problems with the paper as I worked wet-in-wet. I just let it dry really well between painting sessions. Once again I tried to use primarily colors from nature and I forced myself to NOT include a circle or circles. That was the hardest thing about this painting. If you remember, my first Flow paintings had to do with blood flow, blood vessels and the infusion of a vaccine back into the blood vessels. Now I think more about the flow of our lives as I paint. All the ups and downs, curve balls we are thrown and how we adjust our course to adapt.

On to another super hot, record- breaking day. Maybe I should just paint the sun and the heat…HMMM, is that an idea? Have a lovely day!

 

9 Responses to “May 11, 2011”

  1. Nuno Says:

    I see a gazelle or a similar animal running or jumping there. Flow is movement.

  2. Harriett Says:

    I think this is one of your very best efforts! I love it. It sets me to musing and rivets my gaze.

  3. lesliepaints Says:

    Lightning crashes! Thunder rolls! This is all about change for me. Tumultuous change. Love the purples. I always view violet or purple as higher knowledge. In this painting, it looks like it is being sent with force. Very nice.

  4. Chris Carter Says:

    Believe me… those sphere will force their way back into your work! They are friend, not foe. I, too, like to keep them undercover every now and then.

    • Chris, you are so right! They are back in today’s post. I just try to break my patterns. There are times when I feel lazy and like I am using a formula so I try to push away a bit. But I really like those circles, spheres, orbs…

  5. aloha Linda – this is a powerful work. i like it. if it is reflective of your life (and yeah, i think it is) you are on a beautiful path. you are doing some way stunning things. fun. aloha.


Leave a Reply

