Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 10, 2011 May 11, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:34 am
Tags: , , , , ,

My Monday and Tuesday were BUSY – with a capital B! My daughter and her fiance were in town and we completed a large portion of the planning for the wedding. We have set the date, met with the site and selected a caterer. We ordered the flowers and the cake and discussed preliminary menus. We even made a mock up of the centerpieces. This was lots of fun and a nice diversion. At the end of the two days my daughter had become relaxed and happy and said she finally believed that IT would happen as she had dreamed.

I also squeezed in a little painting.  I worked on three new Flow paintings. This one is on the 6″ X 6″ Fluid watercolor paper. I tried to make certain I let the paper dry thoroughly between layers of paint. This really seems to help alot. With these three paintings I tried to use more browns, greens, golds, oranges. I wanted to use primary colors from nature. I am also trying to be sure I have a clear focal point. With abstracts I get wrapped up in color, shape and line and forget about everything else. But I am getting better about considering values and defining a center of interest (even if my ideas change as I paint!)

Flow 4

 

4 Responses to “May 10, 2011”

  1. Zeinab-Art Says:

    I undrestand that, your sister’s happiness affect your paintings. I mean, these color are happy too. I think colors of nature have such a quallity like this. Be happy every time,Dear Linda! And have a Busy time with Happiness.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    Sparkly.I’m hooked on all that white in the lower left quadrant. Beautiful.


Leave a Reply

