Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 30, 2011 May 1, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:55 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I started this painting as I have all my others recently, with some lines and the idea of using a certain color palette. After the first application of watercolors, I suddenly saw this beautiful sun setting in the ocean. I tried to expand and enhance this initial image. What fun this one was to paint. It’s called Fire in The Sky.

Fire in the Sky - 12" X 16" Kilimanjaro paper and transparent watercolor

I was so excited as I painted it that I almost had to smack my hands to leave it alone as it dried between layers of paint.

 

14 Responses to “April 30, 2011”

  1. WOW! So much energy. Beautiful. All these fiery colors lately. You’re a fighter….but you know that. And I mean ‘fighter’ in every positive sense of the word.

  2. Zeinab-Art Says:

    I love this fire in the water!

  3. judy Says:

    Oh, I love that! Fabulous colors!

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    “Piece de Resistance” !!!!!!!

  5. Thank you Leslie. And I want to say again how much I admire the painting you just posted. Bravo. I was happy that this painting has a very clear center of interest. Sometimes that’s hard to achieve with abstracts (or maybe I just get involved with the process and forget the composition!)

  6. terriaw Says:

    Wow, this is really gorgeous! I love the way you used the colors to show the levels and layers here. Great title for this piece!

  7. This is just incredible. I love it. sorry you had to smack your own hands, but you did good, by doing that.

  8. Fridee Says:

    your work looks like batik, I love it!

  9. Sue Brown Says:

    Wow Linda – not visited your blog for a while and suddenly I see a whole beautiful palette of colours and shapes. This is really beautiful work.

    Sue


Leave a Reply

