Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 23, 2011 April 24, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:20 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

On Friday and Saturday I worked on another Flow painting. I seem to be moving away from the idea of flowing blood or blood vessels carrying the flow and am thinking more about the flow of life, about how birth and death are both a natural part of living, along with all the bumps and bruises in between. I think this is probably the most vibrant of my flow paintings. The photo does not quite capture all the subtle glowing blues behind the main circle. I tried to integrate a dark, dark area. This area is different shades of brown and indigo with a final glaze of thalo blue. I also wanted to integrate some of the yellows and greens of Spring. I hope your Easter Day is full of family, faith and blessings!

Flow 3 - 12" X 16" CP Kilimanjaro Paper and Watercolor

 

22 Responses to “April 23, 2011”

  1. Chris Carter Says:

    Each painting feels to me like a giant leap forward. I love the luminosity and movement.

  2. Thank you Chris! I’m proud to say it is even better in person. This one glows!

  3. Zeinab-Art Says:

    Dear Linda! I wonder how you can show your feeling with colors. it is better to keep on painting about life!

    • Betty Edwards, who currently writes the Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain revisions, wrote a book called Color about color theory. One of her first exercises is to paint small paintings to reflect certain feelings. Then she has you review the colors you chose to reflect those feelings. I am always surprised that different colors mean different things in different cultures. That’s what makes life fun!

  4. Teri C Says:

    Love the colors and movement in this. Makes me keep looking and finding more each time.

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    Energy and a strong suggestion of otherworldly. Once again, beautiful.

  6. Stephen Says:

    this is so rich and full Linda – it seems you are emerging and growing

  7. Beth Parker Says:

    Linda, this is wonderful! I think it’s cool how you seem to use art for therapy. Or maybe it’s just that you feel so much when you paint that we use it for therapy. This is a terrific painting!!

    • aloha LInda. yeah. wow. as others have said. this is beautiful. your dialog and the organic flow of this painting dove tail together. to me that says you are unifying your process – or distilling it down to an essence. it’s abstract yet i think the qualities you’ve express regarding life are all there. very cool. this work holds the eye and keeps it moving within the work endlessly exploring. yeah. awesome. aloha.

    • Thanks Beth. I think I am using my art for relaxation, mental stimulation, therapy and fun. All worthwhile, right?

  8. this is just beautiful. I love all the colors you used and the flow, but especially the round moon?

  9. Barry Coombs Says:

    Very strong and organic. Have you ever looked at the watercolours of Kandinsky? They’re more geometric than yours but you might enjoy them. I’ve got a very nice book called Watercolors by Kandinsky at the Guggenheim Museum. It was first published in 1991.

  10. Very powerful Linda, full of energy and purpose. I read my own story in each of your abstract work. They become personal, a bit like a song that feels written just for you, but we each find our own message. Stunning.

    • Thank you Keith. You are so generous and I love the fact that you thought of music. I have been trying to figure out how to give a feeling of music, perhaps through rhythm and repetition in some of these pieces. I know that’s not quite what you said but appreciated your comment anyway!

  11. Ronny Says:

    Hey! I haven’t been reading lately but I figured I would stop by and see what you were up to. This is a great one. I was wondering…do you sketch these before painting? Do you always stick with the original or do you change things as you go along? Great work, i love the colors as always.

    • Hi Ronny, For these particular paintings I do not sketch ahead of time. I start out by using a syringe from kid’s medicine or a dropper bottle to draw with masking fluid. I either use a watercolor underpainting or start with watercolor after the masking dries. I apply watercolor with a brush, syringe, dropper bottle, spray bottles – whatever works. I usually do at least three rounds of painting and sometimes I add masking between layers. With these pieces I allow them to evolve and change direction as they progress. I start with a foundation COLOR in mind and just work from there.


Leave a Reply

