Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 21, 2011 April 22, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:44 am
Tags: , , , , ,

This painting is different from the rather emotional work I’ve been doing and it started with an accident. I pulled out my 6″ X 8″ block of Fluid paper, removed Got the Blues 2 that I posted on April 15, 2011 and there to my surprise was a light streak of blue running all the way down the next sheet of paper. Fluid blocks are only sealed on two sides rather than four because the paper does not buckle much and it dries very flat. BUT, and this is a big but, if you work really wet like I do when paint runs off the side of the paper it apparently can run between the sheets. (Now I wipe the wet edges!) I decided to take this as a challenge but couldn’t get an idea to start with. So, you know me, I started drawing circles and splashing paint.

Orbs 1

I even used my little Cheap Joe’s spray bottles (which by the way, didn’t work very well.) I wound up with something that looks a little surreal. Ken said it looked like the solar system. I thought it looked like planets aligning. It also looks like something out of Harry Potter with the darkness beginning to flow forth. Anyway, I decided to keep it simple and just called it Orbs 1.

 

8 Responses to “April 21, 2011”

  1. Harriett Says:

    To me it is gazing through celestial bodies to “heaven” in the far distant clouds.

  2. lesliepaints Says:

    The beauty of truth. That is what I see, here. Lovely abstract marrying your joy of color with form, Linda.

  3. Carol King Says:

    Orbs 1 is an excellent name and yes,I see planets and a solar system. What a wonderful, happy accident that started this painting.

  4. ruthsartwork Says:

    Now that you mention it, it does remind me of the Harry Potter movies.


Leave a Reply

