Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 20, 2011 April 21, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 4:35 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Someday I will remember to have my camera ready so I can share the evolution of one of my abstract paintings. I have good intentions but…camera was upstairs and I was painting downstairs – AGAIN!

Into the Fire - Transparent Watercolor on 12" X 16" CP Kilimanjaro Block

I enjoyed the splishing and splashing I had to do to create this painting and was very happy with the colors and the neutrals they created as they mingled. AND of course I was able to incorporate a few of my favorite circles – am I chasing my tale or commenting on the circle of life. Either way “what goes around, comes around”. So I remain cliche laden and wishing you all a warm, dry, creative and sun filled day.

 

13 Responses to “April 20, 2011”

  1. Chris Carter Says:

    Keep going! I am loving these paintings.

  2. jwms1 Says:

    I love the way you break up the canvas with your color choices and direct the eye with your line work. This one reminds me of a web with a few sparkling drops of dew.

  3. Wonderful, love your abstracts!

  4. This looks like sails in the wind. And the colors are so pleasing. It says to me that this is like life moving you one way and another. And the circles of life. Wonderful, Linda.

  5. ruthsartwork Says:

    I know how that goes with the camera. It is never on the same floor when I want it. And since I have three different lenses, the correct one is often not on either. I love color combinations in your work. They are always beautiful, nomatter your subject.
    If you don’t mind saying, what is fluid watercolor paper and where could I get some. It sounds like it would work well with aceos and bookmarks where it is not easy to prestretch the paper.

    • Fluid is a new brand. I bought it from Cheap Joe’s and they have many different sizes. They promote the fact that it dries flat and it is only sealed on two sides rather than four when you buy a block of paper. Also it is supposed to be cheaper but I didn’t compare so I cannot verify that. So far I like it very much.

  6. lesliepaints Says:

    My first feeling was one of embracing these glorious colors you achieved, here, Linda. Beautiful. I looked at it for awhile and it brought back a memory of going to my first circus when I was six. This gives me the same feeling of looking up into the ceiling of that huge tent at the ropes criss-crossing above. I felt very small and very much awed.

    • It does look like the top of a circus – full of wires and nets and dangers. I love that interpretation and it definitely reflects the feeling I have of walking a tightrope. Thank you Leslie!

  7. Carol King Says:

    Your circles and lines always work for me and make me happy. I like the colors in this as well as the design.

    What goes around comes around may be a cliche, but they say things are cliche for a reason….usually because they are true.


Leave a Reply

