Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 19, 2011 April 20, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 8:19 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday was a great day. Stormy so I didn’t have to feel quilty about painting instead of working in the yard. I spent most of my day working on three painting. I worked in parallel so I would stay busy while my paintings dried between each layer. I’m still dealing with the issues of uncertainty, frustration, fear and also of growth, friendship and love that surround Ken’s illness – our “new normal”. Things bubble inside and then spill out. I titled this painting Tangled and Torn.

Tangled and Torn

This painting is another little guy on my 6″ X 6″ block of Fluid watercolor paper. I am very pleased with this paper – very robust and dries flat and without ripples, even after being soaked. I used watercolor and poured small amounts of diluted yellow acrylic through a paper towel to add texture. I created the slashes with the side of a plastic palette knife. This was fun to do. A bit sloppy and messy but representative of those nasty ropes that we keep breaking through. I chose the colors because, for me, they represent Spring and a sense of hope.

 

12 Responses to “April 19, 2011”

  1. Zeinab-Art Says:

    yeah I can feel spring by this Green. 😉

  2. I really like the batik look to the painting. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Love the greens. Maybe you were thinking about your garden…….over grown, needing to be weeded and those dried remnants (yellow) from last fall. Thank you for sharing your and Ken’s very personal time of great challenge. I do hold it dear and send positive thoughts to you both.

  4. judy Says:

    Love the colors, Linda! That painting is energy contained!

  5. lesliepaints Says:

    Energetic and beautiful, Linda!

  6. Keith Palmer Says:

    I think I like this one the most Linda. It connects on some inner level, the colours and movement, there’s a message however you choose to read it. I know how difficult things must be for you right now. Be certain you and Ken are in our thoughts and prayers. From your friend in England.

    • Thank you Keith. When I saw your message I looked more deeply at this little painting. The background reminds me of the lichens and mosses you must see in the beautiful country around you. It feels weathered and rough and rustic to me but I used the green to give it warmth and brightness.


Leave a Reply

