Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 15, 2011 April 16, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 7:59 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Well I’m finished. I reworked the little watercolor mentioned in yesterday’s post. It is on 8″ X 6″ Fluid watercolor paper, a new paper for me. It is performing pretty well and held up to incredibly rough, even abusive handling here. Yesterday both of us had a bad case of the blues so I had to finish this guy. The title is Got the Blues 2 (aren’t I original – LOL!) and I incorporated the flowing lines from my Falling and Flow paintings because I wanted to comment on the flow of life that occasionally gives us lemons. The blobby, goopy flow of white goauche is meant to represent the rough spots in life. We all have good days-bad days, highs and lows, bumps, bruises, restarts and bliss.  We’ve just got to focus on today and take that next step forward.

Got the Blues 2

 

16 Responses to “April 15, 2011”

  1. Keep on going, Linda. You are amazing. I am cheering for you both.

  2. Harriett Smith Says:

    As my Mother used to say, “When you are going through hell….just keep going”.

  3. judy Says:

    Linda, this past week was blobby goopy indeed for you and Ken. Hoping so much for smoother waters in the coming days. We are so rooting for you two. Hang on, dear ones!

  4. lesliepaints Says:

    I really like the stormy feel to this. Hoping this week is better for both of you.

  5. ruthsartwork Says:

    Hoping for better days for you both. I really like the combination of the blues and crwamy beiges.

  6. Carol King Says:

    Reminds me of lightning, lighting up a dark, stormy sky. Hang in there.

  7. artimagica Says:

    This is a very effective piece, Linda. The background almost looks a bit stormy or unsettled to me. Then you have the “bumpy” road we all turn onto ocaasionally. Our motivation comes from all sources and this turned out so well! Remember, it gets bumpy but you’ll get back onto smoother roads. Here’s hoping you’re both feeling better.

  8. justjillsblog Says:

    I know you said the white represents the rough patches in life, but when I looked closer at this piece, I actually saw dancing women within the undulations. There is joy to be found, even in the rough spots. It just may not always take the shape we intended.

    This is beautiful.


Leave a Reply

