Linda Halcomb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 12, 2011 April 13, 2011

Filed under: Abstract,Daily Post,Watercolors — lindahalcombfineart @ 9:28 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Monday I received a shipment from Cheap Joe’s. I have been reading about the new Fluid brand watercolor papers on several blogs so I ordered two small blocks of Fluid paper. I used the 6″ X 6″ block for this painting.

Circle of Life

The paper held up very well to a series of really wet layers and the surface is nice but not as creamy as the Langston Prestige. But importantly, the Fluid is cheaper and is therefore good alternative to Arches, which does not stand up well to my really wet style of painting.  I almost never work using a square format and I want to do a series of small square paintings that can be framed to a 5″ X 5″ size. (Why? Who knows!!! Maybe as a design challenge…?) This painting is still based on my thinking and visualization of blood, blood flow, blood vessels, and capillaries. I wanted to work with a circle or ball like shape because I am thinking through a tree with the limbs and roots represented by vessels and capillaries.  Maybe grusome but I’m trying to make my paintings interesting and beautiful like the photos you see in National Geographic. Quite a challenge!

 

4 Responses to “April 12, 2011”

  1. judy Says:

    Wow! It’s like looking down on a Bradford Pear tree. Very cool!

  2. Ms. Messy Says:

    This is very “Tree of Life” looking to me. I like it a lot. Thanks for the info on the paper…I’m always looking for alternatives. I work a fair bit in wet-on-wet a well and hate it when the paper can’t take it.

    • Thank you. I’m always excited when someone seems to “get” one of my abstracts. I also like it when viewers bring a different interpretation. By the way, I am very embarassed, but the paper I’ve been raving about is Kilimanjaro not Prestige. So silly of me!


Leave a Reply

